sjc20077
Blogger

sjc20077

September 11, 2017
Rated 5.0

Loved this place!! Absolutely beautiful!! The sandstone and the canyons with trees mixed throughout were amazing!! Very breathtaking park even without the waterfalls running. Lack of rain had tried up the waterfalls when we visited but it was still stunning. Wildcat Canyon was probably my favorite stop on the trails but it was all so beautiful! It also has a large visitor center with vending machines, fudge, little gift shop, ice cream, and more. Very well taken care of park! Loved it!

1 person found this review helpful
August 17, 2017
Rated 3.0

It was just ok. The food was really bland and overpriced. I would not go back.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2017
Rated 4.0

The hiking through Pike's Peak State Park was very pretty and not too difficult. The trees have vines hanging all through them making for some beautiful scenery. The outlooks by the parking lot over the Mississippi River are great and make for great pictures.

2 people found this review helpful
July 05, 2017
Rated 4.0

We took our 3 young kids here and hiked a good deal of it to see the mounds. The bear mounds were the most impressive. Pretty neat to see how they shaped mounds to look like bears. The hike up to these mounds directly off the visitor center is pretty steep and a lot of up hill climbing before you get to the top to see mounds and get a great view of the Mississippi River. It is very well maintained and has a lot of wildlife if you pay attention. The visitor center itself was very nice and actually had nice selection in the gift shop. The museum inside was small but the displays were very well done and worth the look.

Was this helpful?
June 22, 2017
Rated 5.0

We loved it!! It's beautifully constructed and everything is so well thought out. Very comprehensive. It is pretty busy though so I had to take pictures of a lot of the signs so I could read them later. It is expensive though $40 per adult, $28 per child 5 & up and you have to pay $10 parking. They have a buffet restaurant right outside the ark with lots and lots to eat at decent price! Lots of space for seating on two levels. I also thought the gift shop was very reasonably priced!

5 people found this review helpful
June 22, 2017
Rated 5.0

Loved it!!! We only had time for the Original Trail so would love to go back for more trails. However the Original Trail up to the natural bridge was amazing!! It is a little steep and slick in spots but our three little kids did the whole hike to underneath the bridge. Myself and a couple adults went up top the bridge. Wow!! Soooo beautiful!! I could've stayed up there for hours!! It was amazing!!!

Was this helpful?
June 22, 2017
Rated 5.0

We loved this place! My husband doesn't even like baseball but the tour was super interesting and very informative on the history of Louisville Sluggers and then how they are made today (carving, burning, painting). It was really neat to see and all our young kids liked it too! The tour is only 25-30min long and you get a free mini bat at the end of the tour.

Was this helpful?
June 22, 2017
Rated 4.0

We enjoyed this stop. It was free for us as we did not do a tour. We walked along a trail to the back side of the memorial, walked in to see the cabin, and walked down the beautiful front steps of the memorial. It is a very nice, well taken care of stop.

1 person found this review helpful
June 22, 2017
Rated 2.0

Not worth the price to our family. We paid $50 for 2 kids and 2 adults. There is a small neat museum and the dinosaur walk was pretty cool but then you are done. We spent maybe an hour here. Would've done the fossil digs but they only do them every 90min. We had just missed one when we got there and we weren't going to wait another 45min doing nothing. Cute place, just way overpriced for what it was.

7 people found this review helpful
June 22, 2017
Rated 5.0

Loved it!! Would definitely go back and do different tours if given the chance! We took our 2, 4, & 6 year olds on the Domes and Dripstones Tour. It has 500 stairs over the course of 2hrs. The 4 & 6 year olds did great and loved it!! It was a little rough for the 2 year old because she wanted to walk herself and there's a lot of drop offs so that wasn't happening. Regardless, we loved the cave and the tour. We didn't wear jackets and never felt cold. Make sure to wear shoes you don't care about getting wet. You have to walk through soapy disinfectant water at the end of the tour to protect the spread of White Nose Syndrome from happening.

Was this helpful?