Greg Newkirk
Expert

Greg Newkirk

Cincinnati, OH, USA

Writer and video dude for Roadtrippers, pro monster chaser with Planet Weird, curator of the fantastic & the bizarre. Let's be friends!

July 01, 2014
Rated 4.0

When I realized this place was downtown, I stopped eating at Subway. If you're looking for a great sandwich that will actually convince you it was made by an artist, go here.

Not in the mood for all that bread? The Wich makes a killer salad. My suggestion? Get the Asian salad and add chicken. Thank me later.

1 person found this review helpful
July 01, 2014
Rated 4.0

I was skeptical of this place at first, but after my most recent visit, they won me over.

The place isn't huge, and it's generally pretty packed, so if you're visiting with a group, be prepared to wait for awhile. On the other hand, if you're coming as a duo, you shouldn't have a problem saddling right up to the bar without a problem.

The bartenders are friendly, the food is fantastic (if portioned pretty small for the price), and they've got PBR served in boot-shaped glasses for $2 and daily shot specials for $3. For that kind of price, you can forgive paying four bucks for a tiny fish taco.

1 person found this review helpful
July 01, 2014
Rated 4.0

When this place opened, I'm convinced the whole neighborhood gained five pounds. Their donuts are made from scratch, and you can taste the difference. You can't go wrong with the classic glazed, but if you're a fan of bacon, you can't pass up the bacon donut.

Their coffee, on the other hand, leaves something to be desired. But hey, you're not coming here for the friggin' coffee.

3 people found this review helpful
July 01, 2014
Rated 4.0

I know that most people are going to come check out Mr. Pitiful's because of the live music, but I can't stress this secret enough: when all the local bars are packed full of hipster jerks who won't stop pumping quarters into the jukebox to play bands you've never heard of, Mr. Pitiful's is the place to go. They've always got a cool vibe, and for some reason they seem to consistently maintain a good amount of space. No one is going to bump into you and spill your drink here.

1 person found this review helpful
21c Museum Hotel
4.5
10
21c Museum Hotel
FastBook
$$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

July 01, 2014
Rated 5.0

Two words: holy crap.

This place was the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in, hands down. Sure, I'm the kind of guy that revels in dirty roadside theme motels, but rarely do you have the opportunity to spend a night in a functioning art museum.

My wife and I were lucky enough to get upgraded to a corner suite at the last minute. The room was huge, super clean, had an awesome view of the city, and the staff were more than friendly and really accommodating. The awesome bathroom alone was worth the stay.

It goes without saying that you absolutely cannot stay here without scoping out some of the great art contained on the first two floors. Some really great stuff here, and their attention to detail makes for an awesome stay.

12 people found this review helpful
July 01, 2014
Rated 4.0

If the games aren't ancient, they're probably out of service, but for some reason I can't help but love this place. They serve some mean chicken fingers, and most nights they kick all the underage kids out of the place so adults can get bombed while playing skeeball. Keep your eyes open for deals - generally you can score a cheap meal and an hour of unlimited games for $15 or less.

1 person found this review helpful
July 01, 2014
Rated 3.0

Taste of Cincinnati in the summer, ice skating in the winter, and everything in between, there's always something happening in the heart of Cincinnati's downtown. Of course, if you happen to be visiting the square outside of an event, it's not exactly the greatest place to "hang out" without being harassed by local grifters targeting tourists. Plenty of chain restaurants surround the square if you need to snag a mediocre meal, as well as minimal shopping nearby, so if you REALLY want to get a good sense of the cool stuff happening in the city, head further north up Vine street and work your way over to Washington Park or Findlay Market.

4 people found this review helpful
July 01, 2014
Rated 5.0

Not only is Washington Park one of the nicest places in the city, you can bet there's something fun going on there just about all the time. In the summer, the fountains make a great place to take the kids to cool off, and if the adults need cooling off, there's generally beer available too. Live music is a regular thing, and you can find some of Cincinnati's best food trucks lined up the street. Regardless of what you get up to, Washington Park is the perfect place to kill some time while you're waiting for a table at one of the great nearby restaurants.

1 person found this review helpful
Cove Haven Resort
3.5
3
Cove Haven Resort
FastBook
$$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0

This place has a suite with a giant, 7-foot-tall champagne glass bathtub. Oh, and the suite is Egyptian-themed with a huge, round bed.

Need I say more?

1 person found this review helpful
June 17, 2014

The iconic parking garage where "Deep Throat" leaked information about the Watergate scandal is set to be demolished in order to make room for an apartment complex and grocery store. Bummer.

If you want to visit this piece of history, you better grab your trench coat and hurry.

1 person found this review helpful