Natalie Akers
Road Warrior

Natalie Akers

Sisters, Oregon, USA

Western Mass transplant. I like small towns with big ideas, preferably under snowfall.

February 24, 2016
Rated 4.0

Totally funky bar in Cincinnati's West End aka. Brighton. I once heard Rake's described as Tim Burton's favorite bar. It's self proclaimed a DIY bar for artists musician types. Went here on a live music night with a great house DJ set. If you're not familiar with the area it's a bit sketchy / underpopulated. Totally worth the visit though. I feel like I hit the goldmine and got a little feel for Berlin in Brighton.

Was this helpful?
February 21, 2016
Rated 4.0

Came here on my walk through LoHi neighborhood. This is a really low-key, coffee shop on the corner of tejon and 32nd. Extremely relaxed with a good number of sturdy wooden tables to post up with a book and a coffee. It's a really sunny spot with a realistic vision of itself: serve good coffee, very average breakfast sandwiches to do the trick, and keep the bamboo growing. Between the simple wooden block tables and chairs and the hand painted mandala on the orange walls, this spot is like a kindergarten for adults. Grab your newspaper and post up to learn for the morning.

Was this helpful?
February 18, 2016
Rated 5.0

Pretty darn perfect. It's rare to find a place that can balance cocktail bar and coffee bar. They either seem too dark for a breakfast or too clean for a booze session. This place definitely has all the hipster fixings but there's a hustle and bustle about it that makes it authentic. It feels like a rare piece of Brooklyn's Greenpoint in Denver. Small tiles, big mirrors, and gold plated fonts; a barber shop attached and leather boxing gloves hanging over cushy olive booths. Can you tell I've had their great coffee? Free refills if you post up and work here - encouraged. I got the avocado toast - $8 with a poached egg - and left full and feeling really hip.

Was this helpful?
February 18, 2016
Rated 5.0

I've only been to the downtown location but absolutely love it. Totally intentional design and a great place to post up for food and wifi. The downtown location has insanely delicious breakfast options (avocado toast with poached egg, french toast) and a flawless aesthetic of 20s boxing bar / ice cream parlor turned coffee. I expect this original location boasts the same.

Was this helpful?
February 11, 2016
Rated 5.0

One of my favorite spots in Milwaukee. This coffee shop attracts the bustle of weekend life with lulu lemon moms in and out from a jog by the water to hangover coffee dates in the sun. If it's not nice out there's not as much seating space as it looks. Dark wood and cool loft vibe inside though make getting a seat really special. Decent wifi when I headed there and an insanely delicious mocha. yes please.

Was this helpful?
February 10, 2016
Rated 5.0

One of my all time favorite hikes. This is one of the areas best known day hikes. You can get up and down in as fast as an hour *not recommended* or make it last 3-4. When pulling up to the mountain from Stockbridge Road (highway) take the right side for a steeper and quicker ascent and head down the other side of the loop for a gradual descent. Amazing view at the top of the Berkshire Hills valley. You can see to the ski resorts nearby and on a clear day catch a view of the Catskills. While this is a bit outside of the town the regional schools with the same name are right next door - in case of emergency. Totally appropriate for the family and dogs, but also possible to get your sweat on. Level: perfect.

1 person found this review helpful
February 05, 2016
Rated 4.0

This park got a revamp with some impressive sculpture. Runs with several paths along the riverfront and there's enough room to run or bike or gently stroll it. Not too much elevation change but plenty of exciting and impressive landscaping that takes you through the natural grasses and landscapes of each continent. Pro tip: head to the very end and hit up the sculpture tower. If you crawl under it you may even find some geocaches!

Was this helpful?
February 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

One of my favorite features of Cincy's riverfront. This is a pedestrian bridge with a relaxed vibe where you can run and bike it or stop for hours to check out the locks people leave in memorandum / honor and watch the water roll by. It's also my preferred method for walking across the river. Lands you right next to the Newport Aquarian and Newport by the Levy. In summer this gets plenty of traffic. Pro tip: rent this baby out for surprisingly affordable fee.

1 person found this review helpful
February 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

It is FREE! No need to say more. This spot is worth it even if just for the architecture. Get some seriously impressive exhibits and have an extensive permanent display on Cincy's art and furniture and pottery culture. There's a contemporary floor as well (all the way up). Totally massive enough to make a day out of and if you walk there there truly is no cost. Pro tip: if you're in town for a while there's a courtyard in the center that's my favorite place to read a book.

Was this helpful?
February 05, 2016
Rated 3.0

You really can just happen onto this attraction. Not much hoopla about it and worth a stroll by though it's not an attraction in and of itself that I'd make an afternoon out of.

1 person found this review helpful