Natalie Akers
Road Warrior

Natalie Akers

Sisters, Oregon, USA

Western Mass transplant. I like small towns with big ideas, preferably under snowfall.

March 20, 2016
Rated 4.0

Below Zero is *the* gay bar in OTR/Downtown. It's the perfect accommodation to an unexpectedly rowdy night and draws a pretty diverse crowd. In my opinion, it's also the best spot to dance in OTR/Downtown area with plenty of Beyoncé. The drag show here is historically epic. It's in the Cabaret upstairs (entrance to left as soon as you walk in) and it's free! Bring ones for the dancers though. It's an amazing time with some serious talent and really positive vibes from an engaged audience. There are tables around but tons of people go nuts at the end of the runway. If you're thinking of hitting the drag show, be sure to show up on the early end. Gets packed on a Saturday.

Was this helpful?
March 18, 2016
Rated 5.0

This place is absolutely unbelievable. It's not too bad to see a symphony there either - take advantage of the discounts! $12 / symphony if you're under 30 and $2 only for first timers. If you have the chance to sneak into the lobby do yourself a favor and go for it, or just hang out in the park and stare at the brickwork. It'll keep you occupied. A Cincinnati landmark that's worth drooling over with an ice coffee or an alcoholic drink in the park. The kind of landmark that levels up the entire city. Pro tip: bring a blanket and flashlight to the park and watch the upper window light up with eerie colors and tell ghost stories and all that jazz. Dang I love this building.

Was this helpful?
March 16, 2016
Rated 5.0

"Ya gotta know somebody" - or at least I think. This is one of those places that leaves non-members confused. How did you get there? What are the credentials? It's a meticulously cool private club that draws a New York City young professional crowd. The rooftop bar and pool (and ping pong set up) is not to be overlooked if you get the chance to join a friend here. A dark and stormy that defined a summer. In reality, Soho houses around the country are accommodation and clubs for members with some flexibility for guests. Expensive and incredibly well done.

Was this helpful?
Hotel Gansevoort Spa
4.4
1
Hotel Gansevoort Spa
FastBook
$$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

March 16, 2016
Rated 5.0

Extremely beautiful. This is a luxury hotel that's hip enough to make anyone feel at home. Amazing rooftop bar and pool with a view and a social scene that will keep the guilt at bay if you never leave the hotel for night life. Great lounge feeling in the meat packing district. Pristine rooms and service, other-worldy pillows. Wish I could stay here every time I was in New York.

Was this helpful?
March 16, 2016
Rated 3.0

I didn't expect much heading to this Holiday Inn but I was pleasantly surprised by how real and friendly the service was. There's a few solid spots to eat (mexican, etc.) walkable across the weird freeway side-roads. It's certainly an affordable express place, but the pool and service left me satisfied.

Was this helpful?
March 07, 2016
Rated 3.0

Seriously wide selection of outfitters in here and extremely friendly staff. Classic prices for brands like free people and madewell. Emphasis on a really, really good denim selection. Not cheap but expected prices here. Could stick around for hours with their sheer inventory. Serious square footage!

Was this helpful?
March 07, 2016
Rated 4.0

This place has a great story the locals brag about - supposedly Gerry's dog keeps his coffee on the mark. It's a tiny spot on Broadway (so narrow its easy to miss) with a little prep kitchen and about 4 tables. Awesome coffee and (I imagine) sandwiches to go. Went here for the story and left satisfied.

Was this helpful?
March 07, 2016
Rated 4.0

I didn't have the chance to hit this but locals told me it has great coffee and attracts the laptop caffeiners. If you're looking for a conversational vibe and a table, there's some better choices but to pump out some work this is the one.

Was this helpful?
March 02, 2016
Rated 4.0

Great summer spot with the patio. I've also heard legends about their Sunday brunch which is currently ~$25 for bottomless Mimosas with a side of food. if you're familiar with the area, Nation extends the "Vine St. vibe" to Pendleton. Had a black bean burger which was surprisingly delish.

1 person found this review helpful
February 28, 2016
Rated 4.0

This park is gorgeous. Recently (as in last 5 yrs) completed by the riverfront. A great place to run when you're in town and plenty of slides and swings and unconventional climbing structures to keep kiddos occupied. Watch fire works here on the 4th or head down to juggle a soccer ball when it's warm. Clean and well kept with lights at night.

1 person found this review helpful