Natalie Akers
Road Warrior

Natalie Akers

Sisters, Oregon, USA

Western Mass transplant. I like small towns with big ideas, preferably under snowfall.

Hyatt Regency Boston
3.8
1
Hyatt Regency Boston
FastBook
$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

May 05, 2016
Rated 4.0

Gym and pool area were great for keeping me sane on my quick trip. There are also some local gems nearby. If you're here in the summer check out the outdoor book shop a few blocks down!

Was this helpful?
April 26, 2016
Rated 5.0

Had a super enjoyable morning here - can't believe I just found this place! In my opinion this place is (the) best in the summer, as it has really unique outdoor seating in the midst of all the plants and greenhouse fare. A lot of tables for two in shady nooks or out in the patio sun. They've also got a great tea selection (always looking for some pu-erh) and flavored coffee that supposedly is good (ex: lavender). I'll definitely be back.

Was this helpful?
April 16, 2016
Rated 4.0

Really beautiful urban park that's large enough to picnic in without it being weird but too small to host an entire run. The fish pond is a great communion spot with benches surrounding. It's cold but visitors sometimes put their feet in the water. Grab an ice coffee at North Market and take the stroll around this green space.

Was this helpful?
April 16, 2016
Rated 5.0

Unbelievable in all senses of the word. Simple spicey fried chicken with amazing sweet tea and the perfect casual picnic table atmosphere. You should expect an experience here. With almost 20 hands working at once this place is as much about the staff (they employ recently incarcerated folks to boost future employment opportunities and give crazy amazing training) as it is about the customers. Amazing service. We waited in line for about 20 mins and talked to the GM and someone else who gave us the low down on the menu and even toured us through the kitchen. If you're only going for the food, use the take out.

1 person found this review helpful
April 13, 2016
Rated 4.0

Truly delicious coffee roasted and served at this spot in Corktown. A great coworking spot at the bottom of Pony ride - a coworking space in itself that hosts some of Detroits coolest social entrepreneurs and upcoming textile businesses. It's a bit barren on a Saturday afternoon but plenty of people stop by for the real deal coffee on the weekdays. I hear it's a local favorite with their joe served all over town.

Was this helpful?
April 13, 2016
Rated 5.0

Seriously seriously good bagels. New York style. Smaller, crisp, tons of seeds, classic flavors, and scallion cream cheese that slayed any residue of alcohol I might have had in the system. They've also got great coffee from a local roaster. A nice bar spot to enjoy the meal and some outdoor seating!

Was this helpful?
April 12, 2016
Rated 5.0

I had one of the most incredible meals of my life here. It's branded as thai but I had some amazing fried chicken, brisket, and carrots with coconut yogurt here. They don't take reservations but the bar is a seriously cool atmosphere to wait and hang. We were told to bring an "offering" to the exposed kitchen so naturally we brought along some scratch tickets. I'm not sure that's THE thing to do but it's the type of creative kitchen that tries out "offerings before you cross the alter." Like many of the awesome new establishments in Detroit, you don't know what you're walking into from the outside. Once inside, it's almost an underwater feel. Low lighting and some neons with all black bathrooms but casual wear and low cloth booths / wood chair seating. You can expect to drop some money here though the meal is WELL worth it. Tons of Mezcal cocktails here to match the equally inventive menu. They promote sharing - and the communal wood table at the center of the restaurant makes you aware of that the moment you walk in.

Was this helpful?
April 02, 2016
Rated 4.0

Brunch here on a Weekend is absolutely packed. It's a low key sandwich/soup/salad spot with sit down seating. Nothing special in terms of food quality but it's a great location in the center square and they've got a coffee/espresso bar to accommodate your morning needs. Heads up they stop serving breakfast (specialty) at 2, but it's less crowded and has local beers on tap for the afternoon. Parking is tough!

Was this helpful?
March 31, 2016
Rated 3.0

It's a one-of-a-kind location and has a rep for being seriously cute and on a pier. In other words, it's not your hole-in-the-wall find but if you've got a few mornings in the area definitely spend one of them here.

Was this helpful?
March 31, 2016
Rated 5.0

This park isn't as in the spotlight as other state parks in the area, but it truly is a local favorite for bikers / drivers / hikers / surfers. Straight up - this place is SPECTACULAR. If you do surf, Andrew Molera has supposedly sharky and rough waters so be warned.

1 person found this review helpful