Michelle

Michelle

Evansville, IN

June 05, 2018
Rated 5.0

We stopped as we were in the area so our girls could get Jr Ranger badges. We were there early on a Tuesday and we only saw 3 other people (not counting the rangers). Visitor's Center was very nice and had a great video about the National Seashore. We went on a short hike along the bayou. Didn't see any gators (it was really hot even by 10 AM) but we did see a snake, some lizards, a BIG bull frog and lots of birds. We spent about 1.5 hours hiking and doing the Jr Ranger books. Plenty of places to hike if you have more time.

1 person found this review helpful
June 05, 2018
Rated 4.0

Although the food was good I thought it was a little overpriced for what you got. I think you are paying a lot for the atmosphere. That being said, we were seated on the patio which was great because with 4 little ones at our table (ages 1.5-7) we were seated next basically a giant sand box. They also had a water feature the kids could play with. We came for lunch so no music and other things like the ropes course were still closed.. We had about a 15 minute wait for a table (group of 8). Overall it was a good experience and the kids had a lot of fun playing in the sand while waiting on our table and food.

Was this helpful?
June 05, 2018
Rated 3.0

Lots of stuff. Cool entrances. Prices were OK.

Was this helpful?
June 05, 2018
Rated 5.0

We stopped at West Beach. Beach was very clean (they have the tractor sweeping the sand while we were out there which made my 2 year old nephew's day). Sand is amazing. Bathroom facility was very clean (well for a beach). Wish it would have dedicated changing stalls instead of just bathroom stalls. Out door showers to rinse off at. Covered picnic area. Life guards on duty. Sadly due to Tropical Storm we weren't really able to get into the water but we enjoyed spending the morning building sand castles and playing in the tidal pool. $5 to park for 4 hours.

Was this helpful?
June 05, 2018
Rated 4.0

We stopped here on a whim because the Gulf was too strong for swimming for our kids. The fort is very well maintained and the kids had a lot of fun exploring the various nooks. Stop inside the visitors center to get a map and read the displays. With kids plan on 1-2 hours.

Was this helpful?
Microtel Inn & Suites
3.5
1
Microtel Inn & Suites
FastBook

Click to discover a
great deal!

June 05, 2018

Rooms were clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic fare (biscuits/gravy, pancake machine, cereal, pastries). My biggest complaint was the door on our bathroom didn't latch but unless you are like me and traveling with a 1 year old that pushes open every door it wouldn't have been a problem. Guest coin operated laundry available which was nice after spending the day at the beach to get the salt and sand out of clothes.

Was this helpful?
April 03, 2018
Rated 4.0

Impromptu stop on our way home from Cincinnati. The park has a nice nature center and reenactment farm open seasonally. We parked at the nature center off season. There is a very nice gravel trail here. Easy walk about 1.5 miles. We combined it with the moderate trail up to the campground because my daughter needed to use the restroom and that is the only place I knew one would be open off season. Trail up was muddy due to all the rain but manageable. Bathroom at campground was clean. Kids played on the small playground for a while before hiking back to the car. Very nice park

Was this helpful?
April 03, 2018
Rated 4.0

Very nice zoo. Exhibits were nice and looked well maintained. Lots of animals out and about even on a cool rainy day in March. Lots of staff out with animal encounters. Staff was very friendly. Food was good but pricing was on par with every other zoo (kinda high for what you are getting but again it's a zoo they are all expensive). Several smashed penny machine (great for cheap souvenirs for kids). Only real complaint was the lay out was a little weird. We had to backtrack quite a bit to see all the exhibits.

Was this helpful?
April 03, 2018
Rated 4.0

It's a normal IKEA. Cost efficient furniture that's great if your tight on space. I know you build it yourself but I've always found it to be better quality than Wal-Mart build it yourself furniture. We actually stopped in to fill some time on a rainy trip to Cincinnati. My 7 year old really enjoyed wandering around all the display rooms. Ended up spending so much time there that we just ate dinner in the cafe (I'm always a sucker for meatballs). They had toys set out around the cafe so my 1.5 year old was happy to be down and burn a little energy as well. Clean IKEA, friendly staff.

Was this helpful?
April 03, 2018
Rated 4.0

Neat little place. Food is ok, rootbeer is ok. It's cheap. Go on a nice day when you can sit outside. Indoor seating is extremely limited. We were there at 2 in the afternoon on a rainy weekday and as a family of four ate lunch on two stools. Food was fast. Staff was very friendly. CASH ONLY

Was this helpful?