Remove Ads
meggatron5000

meggatron5000

August 25, 2015
Rated 5.0

I had a wonderful time here. So many cool old games.

Was this helpful?
August 25, 2015
Rated 4.0

I didn't find the neighborhood scary at all. Maybe that's because I'm from Chicago.. I don't know. The observatory was beautiful though. I really enjoyed our visit in 2013. I'd found some photos online of the inside but when my friend and I saw it, it had recently been boarded up, inside and out. The domes were pretty dilapidated, so I can't imagine it's very safe to be in there anyway. We were surprised to find it across the street from residential homes. No one seemed to notice us, though. It's a gorgeous building and the history is fascinating. I'm very grateful for Roadtrippers... I'd never have found this place without it!

Was this helpful?
February 28, 2015

Blue Moon Saloon represents everything I love about Cajun country: music, dancing, drinking, and amazing people. I've fallen in love with Lafayette and Blue Moon played a big part in that. If you're in town, come out to a show, grab a drink and dance the night away. Check out their Cajun jam on Wednesday night where musicians come from all over to play. I love the rustic feel of this place and have always had a wonderful time within its confines. Don't miss it!

Was this helpful?
February 20, 2015
Rated 5.0

Words cannot convey the majesty of this beautiful park. Driving on Skyline drive was a trip and a half, and I had a blast camping there, both in the campgrounds and in backcountry sites. The people at the visitor centers were very helpful and knowledgeable when I was picking out my backcountry site. Breathtaking views are around every corner, and there's a great variety of hikes, from simple to challenging. I didn't stay or eat at the lodge, but it looks very nice. There's also a gas station halfway down Skyline Drive, which was a welcome site (the Drive is 105 miles from start to finish). I saw lots of wildlife (though no bears, though there are plenty there). I can't wait to return to this beautiful park.

Was this helpful?
February 20, 2015
Rated 4.0

A fantastic historical site with beautiful scenery. There's a lot to do here, so you could spend an hour or two, as I did, or do a lot more. I met someone working on the reconstruction effort there, so it seems there's a lot more coming soon!

1 person found this review helpful
February 20, 2015
Rated 2.0

I love the movie, but the mall has been updated quite a bit since it was filmed, so you won't be seeing the ice rink or the famous clock tower. I bet it would be cool during a cast member event, though!

Was this helpful?
February 20, 2015
Rated 3.0

The area around here is beautiful and the history of the cave is captivating. While I enjoyed my brief stop here, the only part I didn't like is that they had a display in the cave, complete with figures to show what it would look like inhabited, I guess. I could have done without that, but maybe it would be more useful for kids. I still recommend making the trip if you're in the area.

1 person found this review helpful
February 20, 2015
Rated 4.0

If you're a fan of the old movie, you'll love checking this place out. It is a bit out of the way (remember that winding road from the beginning of the film?) but well worth it. Though there were some workers there, I didn't run into any trouble. They didn't pay any attention to me as I snapped the requisite photos. Can't hurt to be careful (and certainly, be respectful) but I wouldn't worry too much. Have fun!

1 person found this review helpful
October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0

Living in Chicago, I had no idea there was a national park so close (it's about a 6-7 hour drive). Cuyahoga Valley is gorgeous and serene. Definitely check out the Ledges.
While I wouldn't plan a whole week trip around CVNP, it is definitely great to explore for a day or two. It's shockingly close to Cleveland, so it's easy to get there as well.
The park is free to get in to, rather small, and there are residential parts in the middle of it. As of 2014, they don't really have camping - I read there were about 4 sites that could be reserved only within 3 days of camping, so I just couchsurfed instead of risking it. I spent one day at the park, and felt like I saw most of what it has to offer. You're never far from civilization when you're here, which is ideal for some travelers. The hikes all seemed to be pretty easy, making this a great park for young kids or those who have mobility limitations. If you enjoy biking or trail running, this is a popular spot. If you find yourself in the Cleveland area, definitely make a side trip to CVNP!

7 people found this review helpful
October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0

As a kid growing up near Chicago, I was pretty used to everything being flat. That made the walls of sandstone and gorgeous waterfalls extra exciting to me and my sister. We were lucky enough to go camping at Starved Rock a few times, and those are some of my favorite childhood memories. It's a very special place, and not even that far from the big city! I can't wait to revisit as an adult.

2 people found this review helpful