Kathleen Anderson

Kathleen Anderson

Lansing, MI, United States

I'm a Michigander through and through but with a unquenchable sense of wanderlust

October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0

This place is so beautiful. The view from it's hilltop position is breathtaking, especially with the changing fall colors. Kind of off the beaten path, and likely a drive out of your way, but worth it. I'm guessing it's busy on the weekends with weddings and events, but it was perfectly quiet on a Monday evening. The bathrooms/building closed at 5pm, but the grounds are open to wander at any time. There is also a series of hiking trails, though we didn't have the time to explore them.

Was this helpful?
October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0

A must-see!! This is a great little place for a hike with plenty of natural wonders and the ruins of Madame Sherri's Castle to boot. The small winding road you have to take to get there was absolutely beautiful the first week of October when I went. You definitely feel like you're a part of nature here!

Was this helpful?
October 13, 2014
Rated 4.0

Very cute. A nice little place to stop and stretch your legs while roadtripping! This is actually a whole block campus with 2 art museums, the Springfield Science Museum, the Springfield History Museum, Springfield History Library & Archives and a museum store with lots of grinchy gifts and every Dr. Seuss book you can think of and plenty of ones you've never heard of! They have a cute little cafe too. We found a metered parking space on the street, but I think you can park out front too.

1 person found this review helpful
October 05, 2014
Rated 5.0

This place is great. They have such a wide variety of food, drinks and baked-goods to choose from. Plus, everything is really reasonably priced, which was surprising for the Hamptons. It's located on a cute, idyllic street with lots of shops to visit.

Was this helpful?
October 05, 2014
Rated 5.0

We road-tripped the whole Northeast Coast and visited 4 Ivy Leagues Universities (Harvard, Princeton, Yale and Brown). Princeton was by far the most welcoming, easiest to get-around campus. The campus is distinctly separated from the town, which is also cool. There is a large parking garage about two blocks from the main gates that makes it easy to park. The architecture on campus is amazing, we had a great time wandering around seeing the buildings, had a picnic in the grass while students played frisbee on the quad. The bookstore is also right on campus and open 20 hours a day!

2 people found this review helpful
October 05, 2014
Rated 3.0

Wow! This building, or rather complex, is pretty impressive. We drove through on a Sunday, so nothing was open and no one was around, but it was very cool to see. An architectural gem, if you will!

Was this helpful?
October 05, 2014
Rated 4.0

This tour is pretty basic. You get to see inside the Hall where the Constitutional Convention was and where the Declaration was signed. The guides are knowledgeable if not a little dry. Tickets are free, but you do need one. If you're in a rush plan ahead and buy them online, otherwise you might get stuck waiting around for an hour or more for your tour time. *There are plenty of other things to see around the block while you're waiting*

2 people found this review helpful
October 05, 2014
Rated 4.0

The Liberty Bell is one on those things that you just have to see if you're in Philly. It's a great little piece of American history, but you'll probably enjoy the cheesesteak more. The good news is that it is free to see the bell, and even if the line goes out the building and most of the way to Independence Hall it won't take long to get in (there were probably 100 people in line ahead of us and it only took about 15 minutes to get in to see the bell). They have exhibits about the Liberty Bell and a few other bells, not a ton, and the bell itself is all the way at the end. Surrounded. By. People. You will probably have to wait a few minutes and squeeze past some people to get a photo with the bell.

1 person found this review helpful
October 05, 2014
Rated 4.0

As cool as you would imagine. I had a great time putting on a hoodie, doing a few air punches for the camera, and then running up and down these steps. Don't worry, it's really not that bad, even at 80+ degrees I wasn't in a full sweat afterwards.

The Philadelphia Museum of Art (which the steps lead to) is located on a huge traffic circle and parking could be a problem, so be prepared to walk a little if you don't get lucky with a parking space.

1 person found this review helpful
September 03, 2014

A canoe/kayak/tubing trip down the AuSable is a summer-must in Michigan. Growing up in Oscoda, that was one of my favorite activities, just watch out for the belligerent, drunk tourists that crowd the river on the weekends/holidays. Hunt's is one of the lesser known canoe rental places, though it's been around the longest. I'd pick this one over Oscoda Canoe simply because it's less hectic to get into and off the river at.

1 person found this review helpful