Joel Schat
Photographer

Joel Schat

Vanlife, Home is where you park it, The World

I'm a Timelapse Photographer/Videographer. I travel a ton and want to go to every country in the world. I live in a VW Westfalia while roadtripping!

March 19, 2016
Rated 3.0

The 17 mile road is filled with awesome scenes however this lone cypress is one of the most iconic ones! To be honest I personally am not sure why?

It is definitely a cool spot but there are other beaches and beach scenes here that are better in my opinion!

1 person found this review helpful
March 19, 2016

This is one of my all time favourite state parks. First off you have the legendary mcway falls which is literally a scene out of a dream. Then pfeiffer beach. After that you have a ton of other amazing looking scenes on the corner of each bend that will have you smiling as you drive the road! There is also free parking anywhere along the road for camping as long as you are just outside of the park boundary!

3 people found this review helpful
February 04, 2016

This is the best place in the park for doing astro photography! Such a unique spot!

1 person found this review helpful
January 27, 2016

Have only heard of it as Johnston Canyon as well but regardless it is a spectacular hike! Definitely bring mosquito spray though!

2 people found this review helpful
August 17, 2015
Rated 5.0

First off... GOONIES!

Now to the review! When I came here a few months ago the trail to the point was closed as it eroded but the view from the main viewpoint in itself is spectacular. There is a sweet trail down to the beach that I didn't take but heard was cool. If you go on the path to the beach and take your second left up the hill you can get out to the closed off point for 180 degree views that will blow your mind :)

4 people found this review helpful
August 12, 2015
Rated 4.0

You can jump off of the top waterfall! It is just barely deep enough but be careful!

4 people found this review helpful
Devils Tower / Black Hills KOA Journey
3.5
14
Devils Tower / Black Hills KOA Journey
KOA Book With KOA

Click to find bookable tours and activities here

July 09, 2015
Rated 4.0

This is a bigger KOA and has more tenting area then usual but they keep up everything very well! Overall clean and the staff were more than friendly! They let me switch spots to be more shade covered as the day went on.

As for location it is at the base of the park and is literally the closest possible place you can stay. Definitely recommend staying here.

Was this helpful?
June 26, 2015
Rated 5.0

This is by far the coolest waterfall I have been to in my life!

The section of rock that sticks out the furthest is about 32 feet high and you can jump off of it! :D :D :D

I did it like 15 times and it was so so much fun!

Campground is really clean and right on the river basically. Lots of people in the summer afternoons chilling in the water so tons of people to meet!

2 people found this review helpful
June 26, 2015
Rated 4.0

Stay out of the caves during the summer!

I visited 6 months ago and since then the cave has shrunk in half! That being said it is a short hike to get to a really really beautiful ice cave! Highly recommended!

Was this helpful?
June 26, 2015
Rated 5.0

This is my favourite spot in washington :)

From the parking lot you can do a number of short and long hikes including one around a few lakes that I recommend as well as all the way up mt baker itself!

The drive up is fantastic and I recommend a stop at picture lake on your way up!

Was this helpful?