jeanfdean

jeanfdean

Rainbow's End R.V. Park
3.5
2
Rainbow's End R.V. Park
FastBook
$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

July 18, 2019
Rated 4.0

This park is a compact park with level gravel back-in sites. There are several locations in the park that will fit the smaller trailers such as ours. The roads within the park are tight. The sites are tight and those with slides were pretty much right up against each other. There are a few sites with some landscaping. We had a full service site with a sliver of grass and a pretty planter with petunias and pansies. There was a very nice large off leash dog area that we enjoyed. The grass was lovely. The park was well maintained and the coy pond was quaint with seating and a nice grassy area. It was a good location to explore the western areas of Olympic National Park and the Olympic Peninsula. We camped at Rainbow’s End RV Park in a 22 Ft Travel Trailer.

Was this helpful?
July 04, 2019

This is a nice RV park that also offers small cabins for rent. The RV spaces are among tall redwood trees and the name Emerald Forest rings true as you open your eyes and senses to the surroundings. There is a sense of “rustic” based on the hand painted signs, numerous fish cleaning stations, and the wooden style of the exterior of the camp buildings. It made me feel like I was in my own version of Tom Sawyer every time we were outside. There are two different bath houses. The one at the front of the park has 3 unisex bathroom/showers and is quaintly wrapped around a Redwood tree. These units are very nicely styled on the interior and give a spa like experience when you enter them. The showers were hot and had steady water pressure. These were very popular and on occasion, we had to wait for our chance to use them. The restroom/shower building in the back had a more dated feel. There was also a community room that had an accessible restroom/shower that appeared more dated than the one we used in the front of the camp. The campground has two “green spaces”. One is among the tent camping area and provided a nice soft grass for gathering and enjoying the company of other campers. The other green space was in the middle of the cabins and had a nice gazebo along with a play area for the children. We saw families enjoying time together on several of our walks through with the dogs. A very unique feature for the children and the young at heart that we saw was a video Arcade that had 2 old pinball machines and a couple of older Arcade games. The campground has several trash points throughout which was a very nice feature for those of us that have dogs along. The camp store as well as the laundromat are quite small for the number of campers they are able to entertain at this campground. The laundromat is in a small building nestled into the rental cabin area and have 2 washers (2.00 for 35 minutes) and 2 dryers (2.00 for 60 minutes). It was nice to have everything dry in one dryer cycle! The camp had a lot of tent campers along with RVs and the rental cabins. There was a nice loop around the campground that provided a .46 mile walk workout on our app each time we took the dogs for a walk. There is a dog park but we only used it one time as I noticed there were quite a few vines that had thick thorns that meandered into the dog park. I was nervous about the dogs curiosity ending up with thorn issues. The small town of Trinidad is very close and has a quaint grocery store called Murphy’s that we were able to pick up staples and a nice meat selection for a small community store. We enjoyed walking the beach in Trinidad and found Seascape Restaurant to have a very nice view and tasty fish-n-chips. There is a very nice cove by the restaurant where the water was calm and some neat tide pools to see crabs and small fish. We also stopped for wine tasting at Moonstone Crossing Winery and picked up several bottles. We stayed here in our 22 Ft Airstream and enjoyed our stay. For those with slide-outs, many sites might be tight or may not fit your needs as not all sites are wide enough for them. Our major complaint was the Wi-Fi was very weak and the campground Direct TV had multiple issues and the service was disrupted during our stay. AT&T cell coverage was not available for us inside the camp but as soon as we exited the property, our coverage was fine. We stayed here for several days while we explored the many wonders of the Redwood National and State Parks which is about 22 miles north of this park.

1 person found this review helpful
July 04, 2019

This is a nice RV park that also offers small cabins for rent. The RV spaces are among tall redwood trees and the name Emerald Forest rings true as you open your eyes and senses to the surroundings. There is a sense of “rustic” based on the hand painted signs, numerous fish cleaning stations, and the wooden style of the exterior of the camp buildings. It made me feel like I was in my own version of Tom Sawyer every time we were outside. There are two different bath houses. The one at the front of the park has 3 unisex bathroom/showers and is quaintly wrapped around a Redwood tree. These units are very nicely styled on the interior and give a spa like experience when you enter them. The showers were hot and had steady water pressure. These were very popular and on occasion, we had to wait for our chance to use them. The restroom/shower building in the back had a more dated feel. There was also a community room that had an accessible restroom/shower that appeared more dated than the one we used in the front of the camp. The campground has two “green spaces”. One is among the tent camping area and provided a nice soft grass for gathering and enjoying the company of other campers. The other green space was in the middle of the cabins and had a nice gazebo along with a play area for the children. We saw families enjoying time together on several of our walks through with the dogs. A very unique feature for the children and the young at heart that we saw was a video Arcade that had 2 old pinball machines and a couple of older Arcade games. The campground has several trash points throughout which was a very nice feature for those of us that have dogs along. The camp store as well as the laundromat are quite small for the number of campers they are able to entertain at this campground. The laundromat is in a small building nestled into the rental cabin area and have 2 washers (2.00 for 35 minutes) and 2 dryers (2.00 for 60 minutes). It was nice to have everything dry in one dryer cycle! The camp had a lot of tent campers along with RVs and the rental cabins. There was a nice loop around the campground that provided a .46 mile walk workout on our app each time we took the dogs for a walk. There is a dog park but we only used it one time as I noticed there were quite a few vines that had thick thorns that meandered into the dog park. I was nervous about the dogs curiosity ending up with thorn issues. The small town of Trinidad is very close and has a quaint grocery store called Murphy’s that we were able to pick up staples and a nice meat selection for a small community store. We enjoyed walking the beach in Trinidad and found Seascape Restaurant to have a very nice view and tasty fish-n-chips. There is a very nice cove by the restaurant where the water was calm and some neat tide pools to see crabs and small fish. We also stopped for wine tasting at Moonstone Crossing Winery and picked up several bottles. We stayed here in our 22 Ft Airstream and enjoyed our stay. For those with slide-outs, many sites might be tight or may not fit your needs as not all sites are wide enough for them. Our major complaint was the Wi-Fi was very weak and the campground Direct TV had multiple issues and the service was disrupted during our stay. AT&T cell coverage was not available for us inside the camp but as soon as we exited the property, our coverage was fine. We stayed here for several days while we explored the many wonders of the Redwood National and State Parks which is about 22 miles north of this park.

Was this helpful?
July 04, 2019
Rated 5.0

We enjoyed our stay at this quaint Oregon State Park. The Campground provided nicely paved parking for RVs with full hookups. The spaces were setup that you felt a sense of privacy between camping spaces. The dogs enjoyed walking the trails that run parallel to the rivers. Two water sources merge together and provide a very natural setting inside this park and offers fishing, kayaking or canoeing for those so inclined. One of them is creek and the other is the Williams River. The restrooms functioned well, showers were hot and had steady water pressure. Loop A restroom building had a unisex/handicapped restroom that included an accessible shower unit. The park is maintained by several park hosts and Ranger staff members. We saw the staff regularly as they went about cleaning restrooms and camp sites as people left the campground. Trash dumpsters are located at the very front of the campground where the overflow parking for boats and additional vehicles park. There is a lovely trail that crosses the stream and takes you to the logging museum which is very interesting and worth a stop if you are interested in seeing the tools and history of the logging industry in this area. The museum covers the introduction of lumber industry in the 1860s through 1970s. I had read some reviews that stated they were bothered by mosquitoes during their stays. We noticed a few mosquitoes but they were not distracting to us but if you are sensitive you may want to make sure you take some preventative measures.

Was this helpful?
June 11, 2019
Rated 3.0

I am fairly neutral about this park. There was nothing stellar that outweighed the negatives but there are signs the owner appears to care about making improvements. The best thing about this park is it is about 1/2 drive to the South Gate of Yosemite National Park which was our reason for visiting. That gate is relatively easy to get through - on a Saturday at 10 am we were in the park within 15 minutes and parking for the shuttle to the Sequoia Grove about 5 minutes later. Unfortunately, it’s another 2 hours to the Yosemite Valley from there and that’s the area where the popular waterfalls are located. About the RV Park, we were told the park has undergone many updates and there is evidence of this in one of the bath/shower houses (there are 3 shower houses) that seem to have new tile and updated sink areas. Unfortunately, cleanliness over the weekend left a lot to be desired and two of the toilets stalls in the women’s side ran out of paper during the day without replenishment. In addition to this, the park had significant challenges installing a new hot water heater in one of the other bath/shower houses. This mechanical issue limited the ability for the park to provide adequate services to the many campers for the weekend. They had about 85% capacity including their cabins for the weekend. Office staff was smug at best when we approached the subject. Other noticeable items showing the park is being worked on is that you can see where trees have been removed and they are taking care to nurture some grassy areas. Signs around the grass tell you not to let the dogs on the grass. There is a relatively new playground area for the children. We saw several families using it and the children appeared very happy with their play activities. There is a new dog park close to the office with trees for shade and a dirt surface. We did not use the dog park as we preferred to take long walks around the park to stretch our legs and give the dogs lots to smell. Be aware that the park is on a hill creating steep interior roads. Many sites are quite tricky to get into and where the park has flat sections, they squash sites together very tightly. Additionally, they mix “cabins” and RV sites together. We had to put our trailer in between a tree and a cabin with no room for error. We were lucky in having a 22 Ft Airstream that maneuvers easily. Others had significant challenges. The park has a pool that we saw many families using. They have a snack bar that was closed all 5 days of our stay due to illness of the cook. The soda machine also had a sign on it letting people know it was not working. They also have an adult and separate child’s club house that can be used. They have a community fire pit and had a fire each evening we were at the park. There is a laundry trailer that has 4 washers and 4 dryers. Washers were $1.75 for 35 minute cycle and dryers were $1.50 for 60 minutes. They were on good working order during our stay and the dryers did a nice job on all my loads. They have a small store that I briefly glanced at while checking in but didn’t look like much we needed. We walked our dogs through the nature trail that starts in the RV Park to a small cove of Bass Lake. It was an intermediate level hike and we enjoyed it. There is no direct view or easy lake access from the park. Park wifi was strained and we were not able to use it except to check email occasionally. We were lucky to have decent WiFi through our own Airstream installed system. To call this RV Park a “resort” is a stretch but seems to be a goal the owners are working towards.

1 person found this review helpful
May 18, 2019
Rated 5.0

Great public campground close to Bonita with a nice Vons for groceries. The park has 2 loops - the North Loop is much newer and offered full hookups and 2 different bathhouses. The bathhouses each had 6 Unisex rooms that offered a very nice size shower, toilet, sink and mirror. The restrooms were maintained but did seem to be a place where the earwigs liked to gather if people left the doors propped open. The showers are paid and for 50 cents you can get 4 minutes, get another 2 minutes for each 25 cents. The showers were quick to get hot water and we seemed to get a decent water pressure out of them. We stayed in the North loop with full hookups for 18 days. The Campground is next to Sweetwater Reservoir and you can see some nice water views from trails to the West. There are several long walking trails. The trails are shared with horses and bicycles. It was fun to see the horseback riders coming through using the trails. We took the dogs several times. There are signs that warn of Rattlesnakes. In the time we were at the campgrounds, we saw 1 snake but it was not on the hiking trail and luckily it was not a rattlesnake. There are a significant amount of rabbits and ground squirrels that roam the park - mostly early and late in the day but you will see them during the day as well. The North loop sites are very nice—level, asphalt and concrete. Most are a pretty good size and have a fire ring and picnic table. It would seem some of the sites would have a lot of noise from the freeway. We did not hear the freeway inside our Airstream but we did hear the occasional plane flying overhead. We took long walks around the 2 “loops” of the campground several times and it appeared the sites in the South loop appeal to a very different group of camper. The sites there have trees and grass and some sites seem very nice. Most of the RVs/trailersin this loop were dated and also seemed to be the area that attracted the tent campers. The checkin process felt slow and with only 1 entry to the park slows down everyone entering if someone is checking in. The park has multiple playgrounds - one with a small rock climbing wall, a small water sprinkler park that is free for campers, several picnic areas, an amphitheater they rent out to groups and an exercise loop with workout stations. There is no camp store but they do sell firewood at the checkin station. We enjoyed our stay as it was convenient commute into San Diego, Coronado Island and the sights we were interested in visiting.

1 person found this review helpful
April 01, 2019
Rated 5.0

This is a pretty municipal park at the end of a tiny one-road town. To the east are dunes and the Gulf of Mexico and to the west is an enormous LNG plant that dominates the horizon. It is unsettling to see this kind of industrialization from your window. However, there is a small bird sanctuary a short walk from the park which was always busy with photographers and bird watchers with binoculars. It was nice to see folks interested in the natural habitat. There were patches of Texas wildflowers along the road and in the park which were blooming and colorful on the blustery overcast days that we had. The beach is advertised as "natural", which means that they don't clean up the seaweed that washes up. That did not bother us. Dogs are allowed on the beach with a leash and our dogs really enjoyed that. We took them on many long walks. Be aware that there are signs in the walking areas that say to be aware of snakes. Fortunately for me, I did not see any. I am assuming it was due to the spring chill and wind that was still in the air during our stay. There is a jetty and a harbor channel that huge tanker ships use to take raw materials to the LNG plant. It was fun watching the ships come and go. We had plenty of food so did not need groceries and did not eat at any local places. The closest ones seemed to be about 20-30 minutes away as you have to go around the plant and the Port of Freeport to get to them. We did stop at the Buc-Ees that had a basic setup and seemed to be geared toward fishing supplies. We did not experience any problem with the mosquitoes (it was windy and in the 50’s while we were there). We were in Spoonbill #56 and our campsite was level and the utilities were easy to use. The laundry was $1.50 for washer and dryers. I had to use them for a small load and was happy with the results. My load was dry in less than 40 minutes and the dryer still had time left on it. We used the showers and bathroom. While rustic, they were very nicely maintained and the water had great pressure and got hot very quickly. We camped at Quintana Beach County Park in a 22 Ft Travel Trailer.

Was this helpful?
November 02, 2018
Rated 4.0

We stayed for 4 days in site 102. The site fit our 22ft Airstream and our tow vehicle without issue. The sites are electric/water only. There is a 3 lane dump station available as you make your exit from the camping area. They only have 1 trash compactor for the whole campsite and it is also located at the exit. It was pretty far from our site and we do not have bicycles so we took trash on our way out and about during our daily activities. The bathroom/shower facilities are conveniently located so that 2 loops of sites share them. The shower pressure was good and the water got nice and hot. The building did not get steamed up when showering. There was only 1 washer and 1 dryer for our Loop and the dryer was not working while we were there. We live in our RV and as a result, our dogs are part of our travels. The walking areas in the park seem packed with stickers that easily attached to our dogs hair. We couldn’t seem to find any area that was “sticker free” or at least “low sticker count”. This was a bit annoying and required planning to take the stickers out after every outing. All the other beaches in St Augustine allow dogs on the beach so it was a bit of a nuisance to have to drive out of the park down A1A to go to another beach that allowed the dogs but we knew this limitation when we made the reservation.

1 person found this review helpful
October 07, 2018
Rated 4.0

We enjoyed seeing the Rideau Falls. We took a very long walk along the Rideau Park and over to the Falls. It has a lovely overlook and a quaint spot to get some refreshments if so inclined.

Was this helpful?
October 07, 2018
Rated 4.0

This is a nice camping location within a 15 minute drive to Ottawa. We enjoyed our camping spot tucked into a wooded section near the pod washroom. The site had electric/water. There is a dump station for sewage but no site drain. The laundry was situated close to the administration building. Unfortunately for us, the laundry was closed for maintenance starting on our 2nd day of a 4 day stay. The washrooms had 1 shower which created quite a line in both men and ladies in the mornings starting about 7:30. The washrooms were functional and the shower water was warm on brisk fall days. There is no longer a dog run so we took long walks with the dogs on leash. There is a nice playground for the children. The camp also offers cabins for rent. The camp store was minimal and what they had for sale seemed dated.

Was this helpful?