Josh Stricker
Road Warrior

Josh Stricker

Cincinnati, Ohio

4 Continents. 15 Countries. 50 States. And counting...

April 12, 2016
Rated 5.0

I visited this churrascaria over the weekend. I was excited to check this place out since I went to this kind of steak house the past two times I've been to Brazil. I was not disappointed. Make sure you go hungry, as you will be enjoying a plethora of deliciously cooked meats. The attentive wait staff rushes to your table with a variety of seasoned steaks, chicken, sausage etc as long as your token is green. When you want a break, you flip your token over to the red side.

It's a pricey ordeal, but it is an AYCE steakhouse. They also have amazing sides (see the pictures I posted) but don't fill up too much on those. One last comment, if you want an even more authentic Brazilian experience order a caipirinha (Brazil national cocktail). It will taste sweet but that's because it is pure cachaca, sugar, and lime. Once you've become hooked on these, pick up a bottle of cachaca at The Party Source in Newport and make your own to impress your friends!

2 people found this review helpful
April 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

I stayed at the Westin Chicago River North on a reward booking. I contacted the hotel ahead of time and informed them that it was going to be a special occasion that I was celebrating with my girlfriend. As a Starwood Gold Preferred Guest, I was just hoping for a few perks to make the stay a bit more romantic. When I was contacted by Emily (Westin Experience Specialist), I was blown away by the level of attention and care.

I was upgraded to a corner room on a high floor with amazing river views, granted Executive Club access for the stay which gave us snacks/breakfast, and we were delivered a complimentary champagne + cheese plate with a personalized note wishing us well. I have never been treated so kindly during a hotel stay. When you consider the amazing location of this Westin and combine it with such stellar customer service, I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Chicago!

2 people found this review helpful
April 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

The pictures I uploaded were taken at 4 AM after a long night. Needless to say, this place was still packed but the line moved fast. Make sure to have cash on hand. There's no real place to sit or hide from the cold wind so we took this back to the hotel. Oh yeah... go easy on the red sauce.... it's brings some serious heat.

Was this helpful?
April 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

I'm not sure if most people are posting ratings for this under a different listing for The Standard. The entrance to this place is off to the side of the hotel on 13th street so it takes a bit of exploration to find. I would suggest arriving before sunset to take in the amazing views and avoid the crowd that will form as the night goes on. Drink prices were a little high but they were delicious. The bartenders were usually busy and seemed agitated, but that is also typical for New York City so I wasn't bothered.

Was this helpful?
April 05, 2016
Rated 3.0

Navy Pier has its charm but overall is just "ok" in my opinion. Grab some expensive Garretts popcorn and wander around for a bit. A group of us did see a Cirque du Soleil performance here that turned out to be a fun time. Worth a visit, but don't plan to spend too long here-- there are much cooler sights in Chicago.

1 person found this review helpful
April 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

Gotta love the bean, one of the coolest spots in Chicago. Always packed, but nonetheless worth a visit for some creative picture taking. In this selfie era that we live in, who wouldn't want distorted photos of themselves from every angle imaginable?

Was this helpful?
April 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

This place is excellent. On separate occasions, I have had dinner on the 95th floor and drinks at the Signature Lounge a few floors higher. Both options are a bit pricey, but I enjoyed the food and the cocktails that I was served. Views span all of downtown Chicago, so the sights are just as good (I think even better) than Willis Tower. You can go up for free here and then use the money saved to purchase a drink and relax. It will get crowded on a Friday night, but if you are there in the summer you can see the fireworks shooting off way below at Navy Pier.

Was this helpful?
April 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

I lived near Crystal Bridges for nearly a year. The museum itself is great, with a variety of exhibits that changed every few months. The curator does a great job to bring in works from famous artists, and most of the time admission is free (there is sometimes a charge for special exhibits). Additionally, the museum sponsors a variety of free social events throughout the year. Outside of the museum are a number of wonderful hiking trails that pass outdoor sculptures and bridges over the natural creeks. I would see people relaxing in hammocks all over the surrounding forest by the museum. Definitely add this to your list of stops if you are near Northwest Arkansas.

1 person found this review helpful
April 05, 2016
Rated 5.0

Go about an hour before sunset and you will have amazing views of the city with the sun setting over the Hudson River. Then as night falls you will be treated to all of the city lights in Time Square, the Empire State Building, and so on. Be prepared for the cold wind at the top-- I'd suggest gloves if you plan to take a lot of photos (I went to the Top of the Rock on a Friday evening in early March). We did not reserve tickets in advance, but we only had to wait about 20 minutes before going up. Ticket price was $32 at the door. If you are interested in photography, there is supposedly a "no tripod" policy but I saw some people getting away with it.

2 people found this review helpful