Erica Griffith

Erica Griffith

Cincinnati , OH

I fly standby. Mountain biking enthusiast and wishful surfer (if only Ohio had waves)

July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0

Besides all of the incredible and enlightening museums along the way, I love walking past all the people playing frisbee. I always had such a lofty view of science, history and art, so seeing those great things contrasted with just straight summer fun of frisbee, picnics and dog walking is always great. I've been here in February as well and still saw some die hards playing frisbee.

1 person found this review helpful
July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0

I've been on the ferry many times and it's a great view of everything New York. Plus the little kid in me just loves being on the deck of a big boat watching the statue of liberty and different sailboats.

1 person found this review helpful
July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0

I had a great time visiting Alcatraz! Because of the packed boat on the way to the island, I thought the whole tour would be crowded but the audio tour was a great pacer. It was pretty cool (just for a little bit) to hop inside one of the (tiny!!) cells where inmates would stay. Hearing all the Al Capone stories was super interesting as well.

1 person found this review helpful
July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0

Taking the ferry to Manhattan and seeing Lady Liberty is cool and iconic but it's much smaller than you'd imagine from movie scenes and pictures. Fun fact, there's also a statue of liberty in Paris nearby the Eiffel Tower.

1 person found this review helpful
July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0

The high ceiling, the flags, the bustling people, everything about Grand Central Station is magical. When you're not in a rush, it's fun to pretend you're back in time when trains were the way to travel.

1 person found this review helpful
July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0

Soak it up, people. I love this place. If you're a US resident, no excuses, you gotta go here. It's one of those places that makes you feel incredibly free. I definitely recommend the hike down into the canyon (via the north rim hike).

1 person found this review helpful
July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0

I've been here many times for differing purposes and at different ages. As a kid it's incredible because there are usually mascots walking around (I met a giant Elmo and Spiderman). It's pretty annoying if you're in a large group because inevitably someone will get separated. It's just as busy in December as it is in July. Really crowded but you'll get all your famous "I'm in Times Square" pictures in. It's much more magical at night.

2 people found this review helpful
July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0

It's true, this place is a massive playground for kids. What more could you want than a roller coaster, lego store, lots of candy options, etc... I lost my little brother because he was going crazy running from place to place. Unless you live close by, be prepared to spend quite some time in here.

1 person found this review helpful
July 10, 2014

This is always a fun spot to hang out at for a little while. The hill is always filled with tourists looking at the painted ladies.

1 person found this review helpful
July 10, 2014

Got a great breakfast sandwich here with some friends. Going around lunch time gets a bit crowded, so be ready to wait outside for a little. Super cool, modern interior (typical SF).

1 person found this review helpful