eric.ziegler.75

eric.ziegler.75

August 05, 2014
Rated 2.0

I had pretty low expectations going to their lunch buffet and those low expectations were met. Not a huge selection and the food was so-so. On the plus side, they didn't seem busy during the weekday lunch hour (maybe that says something). The chicken on a stick was the highlight of the things I tried.

2 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

There is no view of NYC better than the top of the Roc. There are shops on the bottom level of the building and you can get a guided tour of the building as well. Both the tour and the ability to go out on the top observation deck cost money. The observation deck is about 30 bucks for adults and the tour is around 15 or so. You CAN get a discount if you buy both as a "combo". Ice skating outside is a once in a lifetime experience for out-of-towners. Don't think that it will be jam packed or that there will be a wait to skate either. You go inside, rent skates, put em on in the locker room, and you're out on the ice before you know it!

3 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

Located right across from the beach, Conch Republic is a great place to grab some dinner after a long day in the sun. The place has a very relaxed environment and usually has plenty of seating (although you might want to call ahead as there might be a bit of a wait during the evening/night hours). For an appetizer, I recommend the seasoned alligator. Don't shy away from it! It's really tasty and it DOES taste kind of like chicken!

1 person found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

There are always events going on over the summer in Washington Park. Every Saturday night, they'll have a public showing of a different (G or PG) movie and it's completely free. Last year in August was the first "Taste of OTR" where food trucks and local restaurants set up shop and served samples of their food to the community. In August, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra performs an event called "Lumenocity", which is an amazing light show, coordinated with their music. Aside from the events, there's a small area where kids can run through sprinklers, the park is pet friendly, and there's parking in a garage directly below the park. This is a great place to spend a weekend afternoon.

7 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

Often overlooked as compared to the other restaurants in Fountain Square (maybe because it hides back in the corner?), Mynt Martini has some great grilled sandwiches. Their grilled chicken is my personal favorite. The prices are reasonable. Grilled burgers and chicken are around 8 bucks and come with chips. On nice days, you can sit outside and watch your food be grilled in front of you.

1 person found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 3.0

Membership here costs $100 a year, but you CAN go up and check the place out for free. You just can't check out any books. There are also frequent lectures that go on during the evenings.The inside is very cool to check out, but I wouldn't spend the money on a membership unless you're a serious book nerd. You don't need to be a member to attend most of the lectures.

1 person found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

Hands down the BEST view of Cincinnati. Once you get to the top, you have to pay $2 to actually go out and view, but it is definitely worth it. It's said that you can see all the way into Indiana on a clear day. I was there on a rainy day and could still see pretty far. There are also binocular stands that you can drop a quarter in to and get some good views across the river.

2 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

People get weirded out when they hear locals visit the cemetery just to hang out. Try to think of this as a really really large park that just happens to have dead people in the ground. I participated in a 5k here about a month ago and was so distracted by how beautiful the landscaping and architecture is.

3 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

This place is a very cool mix of a park and a city. There's even a playground that goes under the bridge crossing the river. The best part of the park are the stairs that lead right down into the river. You can literally walk off into the Ohio River. I don't know if you're allowed to, but I've seen people fishing off the stairs.

2 people found this review helpful
July 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

I've only ever been to the zoo for the PNC Light Festival during the holiday season. After going a couple of times, my wife and I have vowed to go ever year! The event usually runs from Thanksgiving until the new year. You can't see very outdoor animals during the festival, so I wouldn't recommend going during this time if you're looking to see the animals.

1 person found this review helpful