Edie Lane
Blogger

Edie Lane

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States

There is way too much world to explore to take a "relaxing" vacation. I want to learn and experience. I want to see the macabre, the awesome, the historical, and the important--stopping to eat all of the best food along the way.

April 16, 2021
Rated 5.0

The cheesecakes available at The Cheesecakery are amazing and, because they are cupcake sized, you can buy a large variety and conveniently eat them in the go (i.e. a perfect road trip stop!). However, they are also fancy enough to bring to a nice event. If you aren’t in the mood for sweets, this is a great stop for a quick breakfast. They have a variety of healthy food that fits just about any dietary need and is close to the highway for those just passing through on the way to greater adventures!

Was this helpful?
February 15, 2017
Rated 5.0

Southgate House Revival is a great place to see shows. While the sound can be tricky, the ambiance of the building is spectacular and the staff is always friendly. The stained glass windows in the main room certainly take every show to another level and I've never had a bad experience in all of the countless times I've visited.

Was this helpful?
July 17, 2016
Rated 5.0

I'll admit a little bias, as I've been a fan of Edward Lee's for some time. But even accepting that, this was one of the best meals I've had. We got the fried chicken dinner plate and pork shoulder as our entrees, and both meals were swoon worthy. Oh, and, if they ask if you want to try the house-made hot sauce--an empathic yes would be the appropriate response. The ambiance itself is a little strange, as it reminded me of an old bowling alley, but I actually loved that because it felt comfortable and relaxed. The prices were completely reasonable for the quality of the food (our meal was around $50, including cocktails and dessert), and we will definitely be coming back.

Was this helpful?
April 13, 2015
Rated 5.0

This is, by far, one of my favorite places in Cincinnati. I've been there more times than I can remember, and I keep finding reasons to go back. The special exhibits are always interesting--especially when they curate retrospectives on fashion. Plus, as all of the other reviewers have stated, admission is free. The staff are always pleasant, and I don't think I've ever had a bad day at the art museum. And, if you need more reason to go, it is in Eden Park, which is a great place to walk around and explore. You can fill an entire day with adventure at no cost. How awesome is that?

Was this helpful?
April 13, 2015
Rated 5.0

I am so excited to finally have a great local coffee shop. Much like Central Perk became almost a character on the show friends, I have a feeling Deeper Roots will very quickly become like an old friend. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing, and it seems like a great, quiet place to go work. The staff is genuinely friendly, and the drink/food offerings are delicious. Plus, they have toast with cultured butter and a variety of unique (and yummy) jams. We had the eleven grain toast with Strawberry Ginger Balsamic Jam, and it was wonderful. I immediately regretted agreeing to split an order with my husband. This place is definitely worth checking out, and then returning to again and again.

1 person found this review helpful
September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0

I was extremely moved by this park and museum center. I really can't say anymore than please go. It's not a flashy museum, but it contains great information, and it is powerful to see the place where one of the most important events in the history of women's rights history took place. Plus, it is free, so there is really no reason not to go.

1 person found this review helpful
September 20, 2014
Rated 4.0

We only went on the American side of the falls and, to be honest, I was pretty excited to leave. The surrounding town is run-down and smells strongly of sulfur. The area immediately surrounding the Falls is, essentially, a giant mall of tourism with millions of opportunities for you to spend your hard-earned money on cheap nonsense or cheap/chain restaurants. Now, all that being said, I really do think our trip was worth it, because the Falls were absolutely breathtaking. We stayed for awhile in the surrounding park area and took some pictures of the Falls. It was something that I'm definitely glad we did, and I would like to come back with a passport and journey over to the Canadian side.

2 people found this review helpful
September 18, 2014

I really liked this museum. It is split into two parts--a section devoted to evidentiary and scientific information and a section devoted to cryptozoology in pop-culture. What I enjoyed most was that there was no agenda. This is a man's personal collection, which he is sharing with the public, and the displays don't make a point to convince you either way. They present the information and evidence, and you, as the guest, make the conclusions. The models were great, and there was a ton of information, accompanying the exhibits. True, if you just want to walk through and look at stuff, it may be underwhelming, but if you participate and read each exhibit, the place really comes alive. The staff was also very nice, and introduced us to the museum, and made themselves available for any questions. They even encourage photography and sharing, so that the information can reach those who might not visit, in contrast to most places that have a strict no photography policy. In summation, this is a cool, non-profit museum focused on public education--what is not to support in that?

2 people found this review helpful
September 18, 2014

I have mixed feelings about this place. The staff was great, and the pre-meal bread course and appetizers (we got potato skins) were amazing. However, our dinner, itself, was not great. I got the Corned Beef Hash, and I found it kind of bland and flavorless. They had a lot of specials that sounded great--chicken pot pie, especially--and I wish I would have ordered one of those instead. I would definitely give this place another try, as I think the right menu selection would lead to a great meal.

1 person found this review helpful
September 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night while we explored Portland. It was a nice stay and very close to a pier and beach. There is also an amusement park with an arcade near the hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was very hospitable. You do get a free breakfast (bagels and scones, nothing too fancy but yummy all the same), and they leave coffee and cookies out for most of the day, so you can pop in and grab some whenever. It is about thirty minutes away from Downtown Portland, which may be a downside for some, but I found this to be more relaxing, as we pretty much had a beach to ourself in the evening. My only complaints about our experience at all was they were a little heavy handed on the potpourri in our room and I pretty much had a headache the entire stay from the strong smell, and the Wi-Fi did not work in our room. But if you don't have an aversion to strong, flowery smells, I would definitely recommend this place.

1 person found this review helpful