batmancop

batmancop

August 18, 2017

We saw it from the 1880 Town, but decided not to go through the effort of walking out to the field to get a closer look.

Was this helpful?
August 18, 2017
Rated 4.0

The family enjoyed our trip to the 1880 Town. nice to see authentic 1800 buildings that were moved to this location. Also cool to see all the collectibles distributed throughout the buildings.

Was this helpful?
August 18, 2017

I cannot rate this because it does not exist in Wall any more. They have moved to Rapid City and are in the process of setting up shop there.

Note that they no longer do tours to Pine Ridge.

3 people found this review helpful
August 18, 2017
Rated 4.0

Great cabin. Newly renovated, clean, two porches with great views, close to the restaurant and gift center, short walk to the amphitheater (night sky program), and located actually in the badlands.

Was this helpful?
August 18, 2017
Rated 4.0

This is a colony of prairie dogs that are located just about where Sage Creek Road meets Rim Road. It's the largest colony I saw the entire time we were in the region. They don't seem to have any fear of humans, so you can get pretty close. Note however, that their fleas may carry the plague, so you are discouraged from actually petting or getting too close.

3 people found this review helpful
August 18, 2017
Rated 4.0

Nice stop on the scenic route to the Badlands. I had heard about this real Ghost Town and couldn't wait to get pictures before the buildings disappear. The town has been purchased by a church and they've begun renovating some of the buildings. Since they've hung their posters on some of the buildings, those buildings no longer make a great photo op.

There are still some buildings that haven't been renovated, so it's worth the stop. Plus, there is a little convenience store with a gas pump. So, it's worth stopping for a drink and a restroom break before heading out to Sage Creek Road.

Was this helpful?
August 18, 2017
Rated 5.0

Wow! Awe inspiring.

I must say, this was the site I was least excited about experiencing before the trip. I just kept thinking, "why do I want to see a big rock?" This ended up being one of my favorite parts of the vacation. This is not a big rock, it's an overwhelmingly huge feature. We could see it from miles away on our drive in. And even that far away, it was breathtaking.

The path around the tower is easy. You could walk it easily in 30 minutes, but we took our time, climbed some of the lower rocks, took pictures of the wildlife and just sat to soak up the nature. We spent about 2 hours.

Note that parking near the entrance of the path (near the visitor's center) is extremely limited. We arrived early and there were several spots, but there were none when we left about noon time.

Don't miss the prairie dog farm on the drive up to the tower. They have no fear, so you can pull over and get some great pics.

2 people found this review helpful
August 18, 2017
Rated 3.0

Cute little town. We didn't see the museum that others wrote about. We had a little difficulty finding the Sundance Kid statue, but it ended up being right next to the little diner we wanted to eat at. So, all in all, nice little quick stop, but nothing to plan your day around.

1 person found this review helpful
August 18, 2017
Rated 4.0

We stopped and had a guided tour of the site, which includes the excavation tent. Learned a lot about the way the Native Americans hunted buffalo before they had horses.

1 person found this review helpful
August 18, 2017
Rated 4.0

We took this scenic drive on the way back to Deadwood from Devil's Tower. Worth it just to take in the beauty.

2 people found this review helpful