avocadodawn

avocadodawn

May 30, 2017
Rated 5.0

This was my favorite thing we did in New Orleans. Yes, line is ridiculous and you have to plan ahead to be there waiting early. The bouncer at Pat O's next door (where we started in line) told us that if you're past to the Pat O's entrance (closest to Preservation Hall), you usually get in. The end of who gets in is usually at the lamp post just to the left of the Pat O's entrance. We got in and they let our kids sit up front on the floor when I asked (kind of to the side...not in the middle where the $35 "big shots" get to sit). The people running it were kind of snippy and unfriendly but man, the music was fantastic. So worth every penny! There are t-shirts and other little gifts available to buy after show (they take credit for those). No bathrooms, but they say you can use Pat O's. And you are allowed to bring in water. My only real complaint is that I wish the show was longer. I would go multiple nights if I was in town for long!

1 person found this review helpful
May 30, 2017
Rated 5.0

Good cocktails and an amazing view of New Orleans from the rooftop. Went before sunset and it was perfectly appropriate to have our child with us, though we were definitely the old fogeys in the room!

Was this helpful?
Pontchartrain Hotel
4.2
1
Pontchartrain Hotel
FastBook
$$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

May 30, 2017
Rated 5.0

This hotel was perfectly located right on St. Charles with a streetcar outside the door. We loved the historic charm of the whole place. It gets a little crowded at night because of the Hot Tin rooftop bar, but they do a nice job of reserving one elevator so that guests can get up to their rooms without too much trouble. I would definitely recommend having a drink on the roof - an amazing view of New Orleans from up there. Ate breakfast twice at the Silver Whistle Cafe in the hotel (street side) and it was yummy (breakfast po boy with eggs and andouille - deelish, egg and arugula croissant, nice yogurt and pecan granola parfait for the day when I just couldn't stand to eat another heavy bit of food). My husband is a coffee snob and was happy with their selections. I would recommend eating breakfast here, even if you're not staying in the hotel. Oh, and the shower in our hotel room was amazing. We were making note of the fixture for future remodels!

1 person found this review helpful
May 30, 2017
Rated 4.0

Yummy pho spot on Magazine Street. Was bustling with locals (which is always a good sign). Owner was super friendly.

Was this helpful?
May 30, 2017
Rated 5.0

Waited in line for close to 1.5 hours to get our hands on these snoballs. Had never had a New Orleans snoball before and read these are the best. So we waited (with a grouchy daughter and husband). In the end, we were glad we did because the flavors were really interesting and the ice was very fine and different than your regular old, run-of-the-mill snow cone. Now we know what the hype is about. Would I wait in line for an hour again? Probably not. But I would definitely try a snoball somewhere else in town or go on a quiet day. We like to find the local institutions and this one is certainly that.

Was this helpful?
May 30, 2017
Rated 4.0

Fun to go on a paddleboat and take a ride on the Mississippi. Narration was interesting and informative. Historical info on the ride to Chalmette Battlefield. On the way back, the guide told the intense story of the days following Hurricane Katrina. The Chalmette Battlefield itself if fine. The little history center is good. You don't have too much time there before you have to get back to the boat. I did not eat the buffet, but my 14-year old thought it was yummy (and had gumbo another day in the French Quarter and said the Creole Queen buffet's gumbo was MUCH better). I would do this again if you're looking for a boat ride and some history.

Was this helpful?
May 30, 2017
Rated 4.0

Pleasant breakfast spot tucked away in a neighborhood near Tulane. Waited a bit for a table, but had a solid breakfast, worth the wait. Get the aebleskiver for something new, or the special omelette with house made gator sausage. Croque madame was yummy and my daughter enjoyed the avocado toast with sunny egg.

Was this helpful?
May 30, 2017
Rated 5.0

Kind of divey spot, off the beaten path a bit but supposedly renowned. Staff was super friendly and helpful with our giant party on a Saturday night. We had boiled crawfish that were great, tasty shrimp and oyster po boys and the grilled oysters were the best thing we ate in New Orleans. Do not miss the grilled oysters! Would definitely recommend it.

Was this helpful?
May 30, 2017
Rated 4.0

Cute breakfast/brunch spot on Magazine Street. Long wait and service a bit disheveled, but excellent shrimp and grits.

Was this helpful?