Andie

Andie

Phoenix, AZ, USA

March 24, 2016
Rated 5.0

This place was my saving grace! I had maybe 60 miles left in my gas tank, and had been driving from Elko on a road trip. I came across this store and was thrilled to find an adorable country style stop with a working gas pump that was very old school. I was surprised it even worked, but I was SO thankful that it did! This place was quaint, the locals were friendly, and there is even a bar inside if you happen to be in my situation and need to calm your nerves a bit! ;)
A must stop spot if you're passing through, the character inside this store is unforgettable! There are saddles handing from the ceiling and trophy hung all over this place. There's even a little book store in the back.

1 person found this review helpful
March 24, 2016
Rated 3.0

I came through here recently on a road trip. I had planned to check out the hot springs and grab lunch at this little cafe, but it was closed. Being that I had no service out here (AT&T), I couldn't load a map and had to wing it west and cross my fingers, skipping the hot springs and lunch all together. There is also no gas station (unless the one in the parking lot works during operating hours - I'm not sure). Call ahead while you still have service to make sure they're open before heading out here, and make sure you have enough gas to get back where you came from or to your next destination! I was heading to Oregon, and didn't see any services or have cell service until I reached Adel, OR. It was a bit nerve-racking!

Was this helpful?
March 24, 2016
Rated 5.0

I did this hike about three weeks ago, and the water was VERY COLD! My dog went with me and we came across other hikers, families, and some other friendly pups! It was a great little adventure along our road trip. There is no way to do this hike without getting your feet wet - so come prepared! Also, parking is $10 cash drop, come with exact change!

The canyons were gorgeous and the falls were pretty as well! Pretty easy hike but many creek crossings. Avoiding the creek crossings to keep your feet dry will increase the technicality of the hike, which is pointless unless you want the extra adventure :) You will reach a point at a slot canyon where you will hike up stream.

5 people found this review helpful
March 24, 2016
Rated 5.0

I don't even know where to begin with this. I came here early season (march) and it was not crowded at all! It was perfect weather and I only crossed a handful of people on my hike in, which was not nearly as bad as it had been hyped up to being. Mid to high 70s temps and a light breeze are probably why. The trail is well established and obvious, and there are signs in the necessary places. There are also a couple of springs along the way, but I would suggest bringing at least 3L of water for this time of year. Be on alert for packs of mules on the trail, they come up quick and without warning at times. I would say it's best not to hike with headphones in because of this.

The people of Supai are very friendly and welcoming. The first 8 miles to the village weren't bad, but it's 2 miles further once you check in and those were the worst for me personally because I was solo-traveling and had about 50lbs on my back! Being that it was early in the season, there were so many camp sites to choose from, and I got a spot right on the river. It was a beautiful and breath taking three days. I cannot wait to go back.

I hiked down mooney falls, and because of the water spray at the bottom, the chains and ladders were a bit slick. I would suggest wearing your boots or sneakers (no sandals - I wore sandals and ended up hiking it barefoot, which worked out fine for me), and gloves would be beneficial as well.

Happy trails to whoever takes on this incredible journey!

11 people found this review helpful
Seligman / Route 66 KOA Journey
4.2
3
Seligman / Route 66 KOA Journey
KOA Book With KOA

Click to find bookable tours and activities here

March 24, 2016
Rated 5.0

Loved staying here. This was not only the first stop on my road trip, but the first time I had ever camped alone. My pup and I were happy here - they have a little fenced dog park. We chose a tent site along the back - closer to the train tracks but we didn't mind the night trains. :) The KOA staff were so friendly and made us feel welcomed and safe. The stars were out of this world as well. Great spot, especially for travelers like me who were heading to the havasupai reservation next!

Was this helpful?
January 14, 2016

These hot springs are closed. The trail is open year round, but no swimming/wading/soaking is allowed. There is also a fee of $5/vehicle/day. http://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/umpqua/recarea/?recid=66048

2 people found this review helpful
January 12, 2016
Rated 5.0

This lake was a regular spot I walked with my dog during my five days in Austin. Every evening, we took to the trail that surrounded the lake and had a great experience every time!

Was this helpful?
January 12, 2016
Rated 5.0

This was too cool! I was walking my pup around lady bird lake at the right time and came across thousands upon thousands of bats in a constant stream leaving the bridge. It was very cool! There was quite a crowd, so we continued along our evening walk after enjoying for a few minutes. There were also evening cruises watching from the lake under the bridge, which might be a great way to check this out!

1 person found this review helpful
January 12, 2016
Rated 5.0

I came here late October. The weather was still gorgeous, although the pool was closed the day I wandered by, but my pup and I were still able to enjoy the trail and surrounding creek area. Definitely one of the things that made me fall in love with Austin!

2 people found this review helpful