Anna Hider
Blogger

Anna Hider

Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Just a Civil War beard enthusiast, writer at Roadtrippers, and aspiring astronaut reaching for the stars.

September 08, 2018
Rated 5.0

Once you turn up the narrow paved road, you’ll start seeing gravel overgrown paths with gates every couple yards. Park on the side of the road and walk around one of the gates. You’ll start seeing the domes on your right a few yards up the path. Some of them are open and you can go inside... beware of bats! I don’t think these are on private property and I found them very easy to reach.

Was this helpful?
June 12, 2018
Rated 4.0

I was in "see as much as I can in one day" mode, so I liked stopping here. We parked (parking was tight), then walked over the bridge to where the trail starts. We just walked down to the waterfall lookout area, which was a super short walk, perfect for our needs, but I bet the rest of the hike is great.

Was this helpful?
June 12, 2018
Rated 4.0

We parked here and got on a free shuttle to Multnomah, since the parking lot at Multnomah was full. It only cost $5 and it was massively convenient, so if the option is available, I suggest taking advantage. Then we ate some donuts at a picnic table by the water, which was really nice.

Was this helpful?
May 31, 2018
Rated 4.0

YO. Cannon Beach gets CROWDED. I found 10 minute parking by the little visitor center and was able to hop out, run down to where the road dead ends into the beach, walk out onto the sand, and see it. I was also in a hurry to get to Portland, so I wouldn't have been able to spend much time here anyways.

Was this helpful?
May 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

I know it's touristy, but I had fun here. It's so huge, just a maze of weird stuff to see. Highlights for me were the chowder, Mee Sum, and the gum wall. The line at Beecher's was long, the mac and cheese looked amazing, but I just popped in and stole some samples. We came early and avoided some crowds, and then came back later when more stuff was open.

Was this helpful?
May 31, 2018

It's more like a huge gum alley. You really can't miss it if you're looking for it.

Was this helpful?
May 31, 2018
Rated 4.0

There's a great pocket beach at one end, and some really comfy chairs to relax in.

Was this helpful?
May 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

We did Seattle --> Hurricane Ridge --> Hoh --> Kalaloch Beach --> back to Seattle, and while it was a long day of driving (roads only go around the park, not through it), it was worth it. Even driving around Lake Crescent was gorgeous. The admission to the park is good for, I believe, 7 days, and I don't even think you have to pay to visit some of those beaches along the way. I did see a bear, which was wild, so be bear aware.

6 people found this review helpful
May 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

Bit of road construction going on as of late May 2018, but nothing major. Didn't have time to stay and hike, although Hurricane Hill looked great. Drive was really not as windy or as narrow as I feared. Oh, and be on the lookout for wildlife. I saw a bear and it was really neat!

1 person found this review helpful
May 31, 2018
Rated 4.0

Walked here from Pike Place, wasn't too bad. The ticketing and lining up process was really, really nice. Of course, it's maybe a bit on the expensive side for what it is, but it's the Space Needle! The new glass benches and walls offer some pretty unbelievable views. Right next to the Pop Culture Museum and Chihuly as well.

Was this helpful?