Anna Hider
Blogger

Anna Hider

Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Just a Civil War beard enthusiast, writer at Roadtrippers, and aspiring astronaut reaching for the stars.

May 31, 2019
Rated 5.0

The house is so tiny! I love how much work went into restoring it to its early 20th century appearance. They even took out the indoor plumbing that had been installed. The barn out back where you buy tickets is creepy, too. The kids toys scattered throughout the house were super creepy. Definitely go into the attic where the killer probably hid out. And the tour guide was super friendly! She claimed that things were moving around in the house while I was there, even. Spoooooooky.

1 person found this review helpful
May 31, 2019
Rated 5.0

But also very few options for non seafood eaters!

Was this helpful?
May 31, 2019
Rated 5.0

I grew up in Cincinnati but never came to Anderson because, frankly, it’s a pain to get to. But Pelicans Reef... I’ll go out of my way for this. We ate at the bar upstairs, no wait, super awesome. We shared a painkiller which was just coconut and pineapple and rum and really sweet and delicious. Nutmeg on top was nice. Then the coconut shrimp was amazing, the garlic bread was effing delicious... the slaw had big hunks of jalapeño which I picked out, but nice to know it was fresh and done in house. Mahi tacos were good too. Maybe a bit heavy on the dairy toppings and the raw flour tortillas could have used some cooking but I’d eat or drink here again in a heartbeat. Also The Thursday special was $4 beers apparently. And they had good stuff on tap, three floyds among others.

Was this helpful?
May 18, 2019
Rated 4.0

Great view, super crowded. They got a few drink orders wrong and kinda pricey but worth a quick stop.

Was this helpful?
May 18, 2019
Rated 4.0

Nice patio, good selection of beers. I wasn’t here long but it was not too crowded at 8pm-ish

Was this helpful?
May 18, 2019
Rated 5.0

Loved this place! The baked goods looked amazing, vegan and GF options are available. But I just had a drip coffee and a cold brew. Really friendly staff! $4 min on cards!

Was this helpful?
May 17, 2019
Rated 4.0

The setting was so beautiful. I was on a ranger led tour and I think they did a fine job of representing the slaves’ stories here which is important considering this is a former plantation. The museum in the horse barn definitely took a very pro Grant angle on some issues, like his drinking, so take some of the info in with a grain of salt. There’s also supposed to be a stellar bike path here as well.

Was this helpful?
May 17, 2019
Rated 5.0

Line out the door on a Tuesday at 1 but worth the wait. I wish I could say the line moved fast but it didn’t really. The hot salami is not waxy and greasy and thin like grocery salami. This was thick and soft and meaty. Provel cheese was really melty. Good bread and giardinera. Ate half and save half for later.

Was this helpful?
May 17, 2019
Rated 4.0

My room had a river view and the arch is literally steps away. Decent free WiFi. Room service and the food at the bar were kinda slow but the bartenders were all quick and friendly. The parking situation was total BS. The self parking was never available so I had to pay $20 a day in another garage that I had to walk two or three blocks to get to. It was that or $40 to valet. Kinda dodgy IMO. I don’t want to feel like I have to valet. And I’m not in love with the idea of needing to walk around late at night back to the hotel.

1 person found this review helpful
May 17, 2019
Rated 5.0

You can climb up the falls and swim in the calm water below them. There’s some hiking. The beach is very rocky. Bring an inner tube to float. Really basic pit toilet setup. Apparently gets very crowded in summer so get here early!

Was this helpful?