Alicia

Alicia

Detroit, MI, US

From the mitten to the rest of the world. alicialyon.com alicialyon.tumblr.com

January 20, 2015
Rated 3.0

Super busy. We went on a Saturday and it was packed. I think it would be nicer to go on a weekday when they're aren't as many people. It was tough to walk around.

It's a great holiday themed activity to do a great way to kill a half hour. The street/block isn't as big as I expect but it's very well decorated. Some of the houses let you come up to their porch or inside to their front rooms to see the decorations.

My favorite house was the "house of pleasant living" that was decorated with BOH cans.

Was this helpful?
December 04, 2014
Rated 3.0

Many people have already mentioned this but make sure you're respectful. When I visited there was a funeral of a young man in process.With that being said, the rows and rows of gravestones is really impactful. I was moved walking through the cemetery.

In the information center, there is a kiosk where you can search your last name and find relatives that are buried at Arlington, turns out I had one relative buried there and was able to visit his grave.

Also check out the tomb of the unknown solider. It was raining when I went, and they still march in the rain. It was moving to see the solider marching in a downpour.

Was this helpful?
December 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

There was a pretty significant line when we got there, but worth the wait. It's a little pricey $35 for adults, but it's 3 stories and takes about 3 hours to get through. There are a lot of activities, including mermaid story time for young kids. Free dolphin "shows" that are exceptionally cute. My favorite part of the aquarium is the bottom floor where all the sharks are. The tanks are at ground level in a circle and you stand in the middle and watch them swim around, so you can come face-to-face with them between the glass.

1 person found this review helpful
December 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

Tricky to find, but WORTH IT. We went to Rocks State Park information center to find Kilgore Falls, it was closed :( But we found a map outside that lead us to Kilgore Falls.

The parking lot is on Falling Branch Road, then the falls are a VERY short hike away. We went on a warm day so we waded around in the water. It's not as populated as other waterfalls (probably because of the location confusion) so it's a lot quieter/less hectic. The waterfall was beautiful.

There is a path to the top of the waterfall and past that is also the King and Queen seat lookout, a former gathering place of the Susquehannock Indians, that provides a breathtaking view.

PRO TIP: During the winter and when there is flooding there are some road closures, that can make getting to Kilgore Falls confusing.

Up to date info here: http://dnr2.maryland.gov/publiclands/Pages/central/rocks.aspx

Was this helpful?
December 02, 2014
Rated 5.0

Breathtaking! The overlooks offer incredible views. The admission is also only $15 for 3 days. The drive is beautiful and relaxing. There are also campsites throughout Skyline Drive and we found one restaurant, and a general store near a campsite. Also from Skyline there is access to many waterfalls, mountains, and hiking trails of various skill level. One beginner hike we took was from Skyline drive to Stoneyman Mountain that I would recommend.

3 people found this review helpful
December 02, 2014
Rated 4.0

I think the most special part of the memorial is that you can see your reflection as you look at the names. It touched me to see myself while looking at the names, it reminded me that their sacrifices were for me, and my freedom. Keep in mind that this is a place to be quiet and respectful. We went on the 4th of July and it was still extremely quiet. With all the craziness downtown on the 4th it was nice to have a place to be reflective and remember what we celebrate on the 4th.

1 person found this review helpful
July 03, 2014

This place is phenomenal. Every inch of it is just stunningly beautiful. I was here for 2 days and got through about half of it. I saw 2 waterfalls, that wasn't too strenuous of a hike. We also hiked to the Stony Man mountain overlook. There are a lot of varying levels of difficulty of hikes, so it's good for a beginner like me , all the way to extreme hikers. It's one of the best trips I have ever taken.

12 people found this review helpful
July 03, 2014

I hiked up off Skyline Drive, like the info says it's a super easy hike, I think there and back down it was 1.6 miles. One of the most beautiful views I've ever seen. Be careful on the edge.

2 people found this review helpful
May 16, 2014

I wouldn't go out of my way to see this (it's just a road) But if you're in the area I'd stop and look. Don't be like my boyfriend and try to drive up it, too scary!

1 person found this review helpful
May 16, 2014

http://thehypist.com/2014/01/a-real-life-american-horror-story-exploring-an-abandoned-childrens-asylum/

I wrote an article about my experience here.

1 person found this review helpful