adventure-time

adventure-time

July 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

This place is superb, a beautiful little retreat with Tipi's and fire pits for cooking end enjoying all that Monument Valley has to offer. A great place to enjoy a Monument Valley Sunrise and a good base camp for exploring. Also they have a family dog Zeus who is a cool dud end will protect you from any intruders.

1 person found this review helpful
July 31, 2018
Rated 3.0

Make sure you bring you homeless repellent because they are EVERYWHERE and they hassle you hard. Makes it hard to enjoy the street and town to be honest.

Was this helpful?
July 31, 2018

OK so here's what's up with this place, rules rules rules! If you are from Australia or another visiting country you will not enjoy all of the rules this place has. I'm sure the locals are used to it but for me and my ground of 6 friends it was a bit to Brady Bunch for our liking. Very busy place with no parking unless you get there early in the day. Its 8 bucks per person so swim and there is no food allowed in, no alcohol allowed, no running, no jumping, no fun basically!! BUT if you walk down the river a hundred meters the very same river can be enjoyed by all for FREE with no rules. There are trees to jump out of and a couple of rope swings to enjoy. The people that swim there are rad and obviously aren't suckers because they don't pay the fee to swim in the same river. You can eat, and drink by the river and even take your dog there, its a much better vibe I'm telling you.

Was this helpful?
July 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

This is the kind of care free swimming hole I was expecting Texas to be full of. A beautiful place which is out of town a but which is great because that means its less crowded. Its a couple of bucks to get in but that lets you swim and walk around the estate all day. We left for some BBQ up the road 'Opies BBQ' best BBQ in Texas and then we just walked back into the estate. Everyone there is pretty chill and there is enough room for swimming, sitting around, and having a damn good time. Enjoy the rope swing and waterfall.

2 people found this review helpful
July 31, 2018
Rated 1.0

We stayed in Texas for over a week and tried to see this place but to no avail. Texas is a great place with lots of beautiful places to swim but what no one tells you before you go is you have to pay for everything in Texas including the swimming holes and some of them are quite expensive. We tried to book Hamilton pool but it was closed due to bacteria in the water and then it was going to cost us per car and then for each person, no thanks!! I'm sure its beautiful but we flipped them our middle finger and found just as nice places to swim for a lot less money that had availability for swimming. Check out Kraus Springs, Mc kinney falls and Pedernales falls state park. That is my advice from a river swimming Aussies who loves the water but hates crowded places with too many rules.

Was this helpful?
July 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

I don't know why this place has a star rating under 4, it is beautiful. Very blue, very clear, very clean, very deep and VERY cold. Its literally just off the freeway so it's easy to get to and worth stopping in. It cost a couple of bucks to park your car but its worth it and if you get there early you get the place all to yourself.

Was this helpful?
July 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

AMAZING!! we didn't know what to expect from this place but it was fantastic. Very nice food with a huge range and the prices are low low low, which makes it easier to leave a big tip for the good job they are doing keeping this place running. From the retro exterior to the old school juke box inside that takes a quarter per play this place is every bit of what I'd expect a dinner from years gone by to look like.

1 person found this review helpful
July 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

I don't think i need to add another review after seeing all the positives below but i would just like to say "yeah go check this place out", one of the coolest places I have ever been to. There are bears walking around, climbing trees and swimming in tubs, just fantastic!!!

Was this helpful?
July 31, 2018
Rated 5.0

I cant recommend this place highly enough! The staff are really friendly and its very close to old Vegas on Freemont street. We did the tour at night which was great because you could see all the neon signs lit up. They explain what all the signs where and gave back ground stories on a lot of the the businesses that had these signs. Make sure you book a few months in advance or you will miss out which would be disappointing. Also make sure you book in the second tour which is held at the back of the site in a locked yard and is all very hush hush. It is AMAZING!! i wont give much away but it was brilliant.

Was this helpful?
July 31, 2018

Very very interesting house, unlike anything i have ever seen. If you are in the area you need to check this place out. The tour is informative and explains some of the reasons why the house is the way it is. Even if your not into the creepiness of the house and the aura that surrounds it, check it out for the beautiful house itself. From stain glass windows worth more than my house to inside gardens and gold wallpaper. This house is beautiful and worth the money for the tour. When we where there we did the see more tour which does not run all the time but if it is when you are there jump on it. You will see areas of the house that other people do not get to see.

Was this helpful?