Remove Ads
accordingtomolly

accordingtomolly

December 10, 2018

The road is the primary route from Jackson, Wyoming to Teton Village and the Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, which is located just south of the national park border. The area along the road to the ski area was originally ranch land, but it has been progressively developed over the years.

After entering the park, the road narrows and winds its way through a forested area along the edge of the mountains. A number of trailheads are accessible from the road, including the Death Canyon / Phelps Lake trailhead located about 5 miles (8.0 km) from the northern terminus of the state designation. The road's terminus is the park's headquarters and visitor center.

1 person found this review helpful
September 06, 2016

Panther Creek turned out to be a pretty difficult hike but better than I expected. You walk along the creek until you get to the main falls where there is a big swimming hole. It was Labor Day so there were quite a few people. The water is COLD but helped me regain all my lost energy from the hike in as soon as I stepped in the water and had some time to relax. I would definitely do this hike again.

Was this helpful?
September 06, 2016

I went to Tallulah Gorge in February when the bottom was still too iced over to hike around on, so we ended up only getting to climb down the stairs and back up. I am not a fan of stairs, but it turned out to still be a nice day and a fun time exploring with my friends. I would recommend waiting until the weather is a bit warmer if you prefer to hike.

Was this helpful?
September 06, 2016

Mingo was AWESOME. As another commenter mentioned there is another trail to the left side of the platform that leads up to another smaller waterfall and you will come out right at the top of Mingo Falls. You can look right down to the bottom, but be careful. The weather was great even in November.

Was this helpful?
September 06, 2016

Clingmans Dome is the first place I visited in the Smokies and I've been in love with the area ever since. The weather is perfect in the summer along with the views, the smells, and everything else. Would love to go in the fall!

Was this helpful?
February 07, 2016

Fun little place! The map was confusing to read and turned a 7 mile hike into a 12 mile hike due to confusion, but all in all, a fun time had with some friends and a new place explored. The clay was amazing. There were so many different colors I didn't even know existed. Dig around and play. You're going to get dirty! Don't forget to throw away your trash!

Was this helpful?
January 06, 2015
Rated 5.0

I've had this on my list of places for a couple of years now and finally visited on 1/5/15. It was very exciting to finally get to see with a lot of cool places on the way there (coming from I-10) including an old abandoned town called Lobo, Texas. Be sure to bring a padlock with your initials to add to the lock fence behind the store!

1 person found this review helpful
January 06, 2015
Rated 5.0

Be sure to stop into Oliver Lee's grocery store on the way in. There are lots of cool artifacts and things! Free coffee and a very nice man who works there.

Was this helpful?
January 06, 2015
Rated 5.0

A few friends and I camped at their 24 hour campsite on January 3rd. We got to the campsite when it was dark, so we didn't know what our surroundings were until we woke up the next morning to the most beautiful sunrise I've ever seen, surrounded by gorgeous mountains that turned pink as the sun hit them. It was VERY cold in the winter so be extra prepared if you plan on sleeping in a tent. So worth it.

1 person found this review helpful
January 06, 2015
Rated 5.0

Highly recommend! I drove from Houston to New Mexico with a few of my friends for a camping trip and to visit White Sands. This place was so much fun. The weather was pretty cold, but it was perfect on the dunes, because of the direct sunlight. Don't forget your sunscreen and sled!

2 people found this review helpful