Wonson Family
Road Warrior

Wonson Family

Austin, Texas

October 11, 2014
Rated 4.0

LOVE LOVE LOVE this park. Used to take the kids all the time when we lived in town. Free and not usually too crowded, great place to cool off from the hot Texas sun!

Was this helpful?
October 11, 2014

The "Official Description" says it is a man-made swimming pool, which is true, but it doesn't mention that it is spring fed. The water is always cold, but a little warmer in the very shallow end, because of the sun warming it. It's a GREAT place for all ages. There are dedicated swimming lanes divided by a limestone wall from the regular swim area. I took my daughter and a few of her friends for her 9th birthday, and everyone had a great time swimming, even my 14 month old son. We walked next door for pizza afterward, but I believe Mangia Pizza is no longer there. Too bad 'cause it was a great fun low budget birthday party!

Was this helpful?
October 03, 2014
Rated 5.0

Not much else I can add here, except the kids LOVED it. But then, so did we adults! They have a really basic kennel to leave your dog while touring the cave, which we had to use since we were on a family vacation with our big ole dog. Not fancy, just a kennel and water. Buster was glad we came back, but otherwise unharmed. Also, we had to take the elevator since my daughter was on crutches, but got an excellent info session from the guide riding with us. Also, the kids were amazed at how long the elevator took to get to the bottom, although they could see the rock wall flying past us in the elevator window. Even taking "the short tour" was plenty of walking for a 4 year old and an 11 year old on crutches. We started at the underground cafe where we ate some cold sandwiches, wraps and salad in the glow of little LCD lanterns on the tables. The food was not fancy or great, but we enjoyed the experience of eating so far underground. Also, if you're bringing kids along, don't forget to grab your Junior Ranger booklets and fill them out to receive badges and become official Junior Rangers. Great time had by all!

3 people found this review helpful
June 24, 2014

Only did Spruce Tree self guided tour because my 11 yr old was on crutches and 4 yr old, well, is 4. But that was great and plenty for the kids. Of course we did the museum too. The kids filled out their booklets and became Junior Rangers and got badges. The drive in and out is beautiful on its own as well. Highly recommend going!

6 people found this review helpful
June 24, 2014

Not sure about the address but it is downtown, not in that little yellow house. It was AWESOME! Just what we needed between dropping off the dog at Adobe Animal hospital (and kennel) and heading out to Mesa Verde for a day of cliff exploring and hiking. Breakfast was enjoyed thoroughly by all 4 of the family and we only wished we had room for their pastries too!

1 person found this review helpful
Aneth Lodge Budget 6
4.3
3
Aneth Lodge Budget 6
FastBook
$

Click to discover a
great deal!

June 24, 2014

Fun and slightly funky basic motel. Called ahead cause we were a bit delayed and didn't know if we'd make it before they closed at 10:30. They were very accommodating and told me if we didn't get there, they'd leave instructions and a treasure map to our key on the front door. We made it and found our room clean and ready for us. It was older, but we knew that when we made the reservation. They take dogs which was good for us. Pretty busy place, parking lot was almost full so we squeezed into a spot in front of our room between two big work trucks. Great place to stay just before our big trek into Mesa Verde. Glad they didn't offer breakfast, cause then we would have missed our chance to hop down the street to Mr. Happy and fuel up before our hike!

3 people found this review helpful
June 24, 2014

Fun pit stop along the road. Great place to say, "Look kids, really big gorge out the window!" We stopped though, because of the big colorful bus parked on the side of the road that said, "THE BUS STOP ICE CREAM & COFFEE" While you're sipping your mocha or mango smoothie, skip down the road and take a peek over the edge. If heights make you woozy, get your drink afterwards.

1 person found this review helpful
June 24, 2014

Great old hotel! Found it while looking for a pet-friendly motel between Carlsbad and Mesa Verde. Extremely friendly and informative staff, told us about hot springs and Dwan Light Sanctuary nearby. (check THAT out!) Good free cooked-to-order breakfast included with the room. Great price and neat old historic place!

1 person found this review helpful
June 24, 2014

Great place! Loved our "Royal Mansion" vintage trailer. The kids had a blast. Can't wait to find out about the new hand painted yurt! Staff was so friendly and helpful with extra blankets, cream for my coffee and such. And even though my husband hit is head on the door coming out of the trailer like 16 times, he still said he'd LOVE to come back soon! We drove in for a star party and stayed here. Seemed like a great place for 20 somethings, but we had a blast at 40! (w/ 2kids and the dog)

1 person found this review helpful
June 05, 2014

Just stopped in during the Carlsbad to Las Vegas, NM leg of our two week trip. This place was awesome. The tortilla soup was a little spicy for my daughter, but it was quite tasty. Also, we got the philly cheese steak sandwich and it was so yummy and fresh. Good looking burgers on the other tables too.

1 person found this review helpful