ScoutSilverstein

ScoutSilverstein

March 11, 2018
Rated 3.0

It’s a street to walk up and down on for sure, tourist spot. However, all the stores sell the same thing: catch phrase t shirts and souvenirs. There are not many local shops like other small tourist towns, or even galleries. There are a few places to eat. I think it is better to walk up and down the side streets and look at the architecture, catch the Hemingway house, lighthouse, or other exhibits, and see the chickens wandering or fruits that are being sold.

2 people found this review helpful
March 11, 2018
Rated 2.0

Many things are common and overpriced, the animals are in poor condition. However, the customer service is great. They will cut the fruits for you in the spot and they do have some rare fruits.

Was this helpful?
November 06, 2016
Rated 5.0

Visited yesterday (November 5) on my way back to NYC from upstate. Free admission, I parked on the street (free again) as there was a wedding going on so lots of spots were taken. Grounds were very nice and diverse - there are gardens, columns, a path down to an overlook of the Hudson, nature paths, a "love museum" I think it was called -- some kind of small interactive rock and water fountain, and then trails that connect to the old croton aqueduct which is super useful for if you want to do a day trip and hike. Also even tho it was late in the season, there is lots to explore on the trails if you're familiar or just curious about plants, herbs, or flora, I came across a lot with plenty of mushrooms - one really nice salvageable collection! Anyway this late in the season it's a mixture between yellowing and thinning out on the trails but definitely all around worth a stop.

Was this helpful?
September 01, 2016
Rated 5.0

amazing stop, especially at SUNRISE!!!!! So dope.

Was this helpful?
September 01, 2016
Rated 3.0

owner was super super sweet but it was a mediocre stop. The only wow factor for me were two art pieces - one of them being an original Keith haring. There was no photographing allowed and I felt rushed in and out, maybe because there was a soft opening of an exhibit later that night.

Was this helpful?
September 01, 2016
Rated 5.0

Always a favorite

Was this helpful?
September 01, 2016
Rated 4.0

Four stars - very educational and informed tour but not worth $26 in my opinion. I stopped 25 minutes away at stony man mountain so figured it was a good double header. I don't regret it and it some great pictures and a bit more knowledge.

Was this helpful?
September 01, 2016
Rated 5.0

Gorgeous summit and super easy!!! The way up is great stopping at overlooks. Wasn't prepared to pay $20 to get into the park but would do it again and again. Spent three hours there. Saw black bears. Would've spent the whole day if I wasn't on a timeline.

Was this helpful?
September 01, 2016
Rated 5.0

Best stop on my LONG trip! Absolutely inspiring. Riddled with hope, identity, identification, education, and diversity. And of course, beauty. Would love to stop there again with more time.

1 person found this review helpful
September 01, 2016
Rated 5.0

really great stop! Went straight from the eastern state penitentiary to this, both were phenomenal (if different) experiences. The magic gardens has indoor and outdoor art. The outdoor gardens are like a maze of mosaics and beat poetry. Not just mosaic visuals to look at but other forms of expression intertwined to take in, and you're immersed in the body of it. It was truly lovely.

Was this helpful?