Remove Ads
Sarah Parent

Sarah Parent

Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Nerdy companion to my husband, heroic storyteller to my children, shameless romance reader the rest of the time, I'm always on the lookout for the most beautiful and interesting spots in America to share with my favorite people.

August 12, 2015

If you're in the Greater Boston area, forget Cape Cod. It's crowded, expensive, and full of tourists. Hit the North Shore instead, and check out the gorgeous beaches on Cape Ann and the North Shore. Crane Beach in Ipswich is a nature preserve, which means no boardwalk, no cheesy souvenir stands, just a snack bar and miles and miles of beautiful beach. Don't forget to grab lunch at the famous Clam Box!

1 person found this review helpful
August 12, 2015

I love this place! The cider donuts in the fall are to die for. I can't speak for the berry-picking, but the apples were plentiful and delicious the last time I was there. Kids can pet some of the livestock, and the store is crammed with wonderful local goodies. Definitely worth a stop.

2 people found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

Beautiful expensive pastries. I've never been for lunch, but I make a special trip for their whoopie pies every time I'm in Boston.

1 person found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

The cakes here are just amazing. I worked in Chinatown for years, and my Chinese co-workers would only get cakes from this bakery. Very light and fruity, they were a delight.

1 person found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

I took my vegetarian cousin out to lunch here. She's used to being limited to two or three items when she goes out to eat, and she was amazed by the huge number of choices being offered. I'm a meat-eater, but I didn't even notice the lack of it, my pineapple curry was so good. The boba tea was lovely as well. We were there at lunch time on a weekday and practically had the place to ourselves. It was clean and bright (not always a guarantee in Chinatown), and I would definitely go back.

1 person found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

How did this place become so popular? I don't know. But you'll find photo after photo of celebrities who have come here to eat some of the worst "Chinese" food at ridiculous prices. It has been packed to the brim every time I visit, and I can't understand why. It's been coasting on its reputation for too long. That being said, it's still an "experience" to come. It goes all out to be the cheesiest, most over-the-top Asian dining experience you'll ever have. Which makes it kind of fun.

1 person found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

I love this place! The cider donuts in the fall are to die for. I can't speak for the berry-picking, but the apples were plentiful and delicious the last time I was there. Kids can pet some of the livestock, and the store is crammed with wonderful local goodies. Definitely worth a stop.

1 person found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

Fun diner, and pure Americana. The food is great, and exactly what you'd expect from a diner like this. Stay away on Sundays, you won't even be able to park it's so crowded!

1 person found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

The food is great. I will never complain about the food. The fried clams, the lobster roll, the haddock, it's all delicious. But sometimes the line is just insane, and the prices are a little high for such casual fare. If you're willing to splurge and you're up for waiting in line, definitely go. It's good. But if you drive by and the line is practically in the street, don't feel bad for giving it a pass.

1 person found this review helpful
August 31, 2014

A fun bar that brings in a good crowd, and the dance floor is packed on the weekends. I couldn't say what it's like during the week, but Saturday night is hopping. A bit of a pick-up joint, it's not the place for a few mellow drinks with friends. Be prepared to dance and for a lot of shouting to be heard over the music and the crowd.

1 person found this review helpful