Mark Mays

Mark Mays

Cathedral City, CA, United States

August 17, 2018
Rated 5.0

I've been twice in the last week. I'll go once more before I leave. After living in the Bay Area for 30 years and traveling all around Europe, I've been to some of the best restaurants around. Main Street Social is an excellent restaurant, the kind of place I wasn't expecting in small mountain town. The menu is creative, and they execute on everything. The other night I had the fish, which was prepared perfectly. Tonight, I enjoyed the Brussels sprouts, which I tend to order whenever they are on the menu. Theirs were the best I've ever had. And the smoked trout avocado toast was outstanding. The appetizers are sizable, so after sharing those two, I had to scale down my entree. I shared the chicken sandwich, which was also excellent. Even the fries were unique and fantastic. I truly wish I lived closer to this restaurant.

Was this helpful?
August 12, 2018
Rated 3.0

The picture of the RV in the trees on this site is hilarious, as there are no trees at this RV park. I would upload a picture like I do for RV park reviews and Google, but with the silly picture size limit on this website, I'm not going to bother to condense a picture just to post here. Good one-night campground. Easy to get to off I-80 but road noise was not bad. Gravel parking lot – not any grass in sight. Reminded me of the typical RV park on the Alaska highway. Online reservation was easy. It does fill up at night, so I would recommend a reservation. Check-in was easy, and staff was friendly. Utilities were fine, and site was level. However, despite the gravel, there were muddy low points here and there, including right next to our front door. WiFi was awful. Roads are very wide so easy exit the next morning. We stayed in site #7, which was a 50 amp site with cable. We didn’t try the cable – wide open sight to Dish satellites so no problem with that. Plenty long for our 38’ motorhome plus Jeep in tow. Would definitely stay again for a one-night stopover.

Was this helpful?
August 12, 2018
Rated 4.0

Fort Robinson is a hidden gem. The surrounding bluffs are beautiful, and the history of the fort as exhibited in the museum is very interesting. We stayed in the Red Cloud Campground, which is the full-hookup campground. All sites are back-in. Check in was easy, and the staff was helpful and friendly. The interior roads are paved and relatively easy to navigate. We stayed in site 113, which I wouldn’t recommend. The picnic table was oddly placed on the opposite side of the rig from where it should be. The hookups were fine. There is no WiFi. There was a tree next to our site which partially blocked our rooftop satellite. The grass at the site would be nice if it had been mowed, but unfortunately is too tall to enjoy. There are two parking areas along the entry road, which make it easy to hook up the toad when leaving. The whole area is really nice, and I would definitely return.

Was this helpful?
August 12, 2018
Rated 5.0

DO NOT trust your GPS to get you there. I have a Garmin 760 RV that is specific for RV’s, and it sent me the wrong way. Do not attempt to reach the park via 385/Sawmill Rd/Cross Rd. Part of the problem is that there are signs on SD 793 (Sidney Park) that say the maximum weight per axle is 6 tons. Since my motorhome exceeds that, the GPS was trying to avoid that road. Ignore that sign - SD 793 off US 16A is the correct way to get to this park.
After reading the reviews of the nearby KOA, especially about the lack of cell phone reception, we booked at the last minute, and during the busy Sturgis week. We were so glad we did. This a beautiful campground, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Online reservations were easy. Check-in was easy, and roads are easily navigable. Sites are level enough, gravel, with nice green grass between the sites that is cut and maintained. There is also a nice fire pit and picnic table. WiFi and water pressure was good. Our site, #27, was a pull-through with plenty of room for our 38’ MH plus our Jeep. All utilities worked fine, and since there’s not much shade we got all 3 Dish satellites. I really liked the layout of the park, with the sites in the middle and cabins, bunkhouse, and horse barns around the perimeter. We had a beautiful view to the north, with the mountains in the distance. This is a primarily a horse camp, but it is kept very clean. You will find more flies here than most places, but not really that bad. We are morning people, so to be able to walk around outside at daybreak and hear the roosters crowing, and horses neighing was marvelous. Other reviewers commented that the horse people were not friendly – we did not find that to be the case. Look, in this part of the world, if they wave and say hello to an interracial gay couple, they’re probably going to be friendly to most. This has been one of our favorite campgrounds over the course of a three-month trip to 20 states. We look forward to returning – but definitely NOT during Sturgis.

Was this helpful?
August 04, 2018
Rated 4.0

Perfectly fine for an overnight. Very convenient - right off I-90, but road noise was not noticeable. When you arrive drive to the pool area to register, not the log cabin house at the entrance. There’s a sign on top of the adjacent building that says “Check in here” or something like that. Check-in was easy since we reserved and paid online. Staff was onsite and friendly. 50-amp power was stable, and water pressure was good. Did not use sewer. Site was level, but connections are at the rear of the pull-through site. You’ll need a long hose and power cable to connect if you are in a MH towing. Wasn’t a problem for us as our hose and cable are long. Roads are easily navigable. Site was open, so we easily connected to all three Dish western arc satellites. WiFi was above average. No picnic tables or fire rings. Plenty of well-maintained grass to walk the dogs, but no enclosed dog area. All in all, a perfect one-nighter. We would definitely stay there again.
If you are going west from there to the Black Hills, the drive through Badlands National Park is lovely and easily doable. We did it in a 38 ft MH towing, and had no problems. Also, Wall Drug is kitschy but interesting. Parking in the back was also easy for MH's towing.

Was this helpful?
August 04, 2018
Rated 5.0

Probably the nicest municipal campground in which I’ve ever stayed. It’s in the suburbs of the Twin Cities, but as soon as you enter the park you feel like you’re in the woods. We spent 6 nights in back-in site #27. There are a few pull-through sites, but the back-in sites are nicer. Check-in was easy, but you do have to wind your way through the park to get to the office. Campground hosts are polite but sticklers for rules. Roads are paved and navigable, but the roundabout near the entrance is awkward, and the two-way entrance road is a bit windy and narrow for big rigs. If you are towing 4 down, recommend not trying to arrive early – if you meet a departing rig on the entrance road you may not be able to get by. Sites are gravel and level. Fire rings are at the rear of the site, but well away from the neighboring rig. Plenty of grass everywhere for the dogs, but no enclosed dog park. Hookups were convenient, sewer was threaded, and water quality and pressure were good. Although there are trees, we were able to get all three western arc Dish satellites with our rooftop antenna. Verizon signal was good. Our OTA antenna found 30+ stations in HD. WiFI is excellent. Other reviewers have mentioned mosquitos, but I didn’t find them bad at all. Very convenient to reach the city, and bike trails are everywhere in the area. Very nice municipal golf course less than 2 miles away. All in all, the layout and the setting was awesome. We loved this campground and look forward to returning. It is popular, so reservations are highly recommended.
I would upload a picture, but Roadtripper's 4 mb limit is ridiculous. I post reviews on Google and RV park reviews, and I simply upload the pic I took with my iphone. I'm not going to go the trouble of compressing a pic for this site.

Was this helpful?
July 29, 2018
Rated 4.0

This is a pretty municipal campground, conveniently located about half way on our drive from Traverse City, Michigan to Minneapolis. The location, behind a Kmart, is a bit bazaar, but the physical setting on the river is quite nice. Check-in was easy since we had already reserved and paid. It’s surprising how difficult it is to make a reservation there. You can’t do it online – you must fill out a paper form and mail it in with a check. We had to call to confirm we had a reservation. The office was not occupied when we arrived at 1:05 pm, but someone showed up a couple of minutes later. Roads are a bit tight but navigable. Many seasonals but sites were tidy. There are mature trees throughout the park so plenty of shade. We were not able to use our rooftop satellite antenna, but we were able to place our portable antenna at the rear of the coach to receive all three Dish western arc satellites. We spent one night in site 44, a pull-through site that was just barely long enough for our 38’ coach plus 2-door Jeep toad. It was level, and I would estimate the length of the site to be about 57 feet. Not sure why other reviewers have stated there is 50 amp power – there’s not. Power was stable, we did not use the sewer connection, and the water pressure was adequate. However, the water was a bit cloudy, and the WiFi was poor. There is a municipal sewerage plant next door, but we did not smell it. There is grass everywhere, but there is also goose poop almost everywhere. No enclosed dog park, but plenty of places to walk the dog. Our site was within 75 yards of Highway 41 where it climbs to go over the bridge over the Menominee River, so the road noise was constant.

1 person found this review helpful
Traverse Bay RV Resort
4.8
1
Traverse Bay RV Resort
FastBook
$$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

July 29, 2018
Rated 5.0

This is one of the nicest RV parks in which I’ve ever stayed. It is an ownership park, with all the lots improved in some way. Many are beautifully landscaped. Check in was quick and easy, and the staff is very friendly and helpful, providing brochures and information about things to see and do in the area. Interior roads are paved and easily navigable, and all sites are paved and/or concrete with patios and tables. There are no fire pits and no open fires are allowed. No pull through sites – only pull-in or back-in. Hook ups were conveniently placed. Power was steady, water pressure was good, and WiFI was average, but throttled for heavy users. Sewer connection was snug, but surprisingly not threaded. Water connection is already split so it’s easy to flush your tank without having to disconnect the water. We stayed 8 nights in pull-in site #119 in the Class-A-only south loop. We extended our stay for 3 nights and moved to back-in site #91. We actually liked #91 better because if was larger and backed up to the woods. Site 119 faces the artificial pond as well as a large tree, so you still have privacy even with the front blinds open because of the tree. Both sites were plenty long for our 38’ coach plus toad. We locked all three western arc Dish satellites in both sites. The park amenities are excellent, with a nice pool, enclosed dog park, and a tennis court. The seasonals are friendly and engaging. There are tons of things to see and do in the area. We can’t wait to return, but next time for at least 2 weeks.

Was this helpful?
July 17, 2018
Rated 4.0

A large and beautiful campground with huge, wide open spaces and green grass everywhere. We had a back in site (J14), which meant we faced a huge, wide open tenting area that was completely empty when we were there. Check in was easy, and staff was helpful and friendly. Road are easily navigable. Site was somewhat level, although one of the back, outside tires was off the ground when we leveled with our jacks. 50 amp power was stable. No cable TV, and no enclosed dog park. Wide open view to Dish satellites so locked on to all three satellites. I found the WiFi to be reliable, but we were there during the week and the park was not full. Highway noise was quite noticeable. We've camped in places close to freeways before and have not heard the noise inside our motorhome, but this time we did. Water faucet was not mounted on a pole but was at the end of a hose that came out of some odd in-ground concrete structure. There was a power outage one day we were there, which resulted in the water pressure going down to zero. It returned a few hours later, but then we got a phone call saying that the water should be boiled before drinking. As a result, when we got to our next destination, I had to flush our fresh water system and change the filter. This was the first campground I've ever seen post a notice that drones are not permitted. That was disappointing since the property is beautiful. Despite the water issues and highway noise, I would still stay there again if in the area.

Was this helpful?
July 11, 2018
Rated 4.0

A pleasant RV park in an agricultural area southeast of Montreal. We stayed here 5 nights in July, during which part of the time it was very hot. This is a nice park, but not outstanding. To get there, our Garmin 760 took us down Montee Monette, which is extremely narrow at the intersection with Rt 217. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and quick, and we were escorted to our site. Interior roads were paved and easy to navigate. Entry is gated, so good security, plus there are many security cameras around. There are almost 200 sites, many have been improved by the seasonal owners of the lots. You won’t get one of those lots unless you are seasonal. There are about 34 sites for visitors, and only about 10 of those are pull through. We had site 202, which was on the end of a row and plenty long, but pretty narrow. When extended, our awning was only about 5 feet from our neighbor’s rig. The site was paved with paver blocks, and was level. We had a glass table with chairs, a nice 3-person swing, and a built-in fireplace. 50-amp service was reliable. Sewer outlet was threaded but was a few inches too high. Water pressure was consistently below 40 psi. There is no cable TV, but internet was reliable and quite speedy. Amenities were good, with a nice pool and a small fitness area. There’s no enclosed dog park, but there is an area to walk dogs where they are not peeing on a seasonal guest’s landscaping. Garbage and recycling was in only one location, near the front, so quite a hike from our site. Trees partially blocked our roof-mounted satellite, so we were able to lock onto 2 of the 3 western arc Dish satellites. Verizon (Telus/Rogers) service was consistently 2 bars. It’s less than 20 miles into the old part of Montreal, but traffic can be horrible getting across any of the bridges. In summary, this is a nice park, but not excellent given there’s no cable TV, no enclosed dog park, low water pressure, and our site was narrow. I don’t think we will return to the Montreal area in an RV given the lack of adequate parks that are closer to the city. Note that taking public transit into the city was not an option for us because we wanted to take our dogs with us.

Was this helpful?