NuttyHiker

NuttyHiker

Harker Heights, TX, USA

Mother to 4, Military Spouse, Professional Photographer, Journalist, and Travel Blogger for Antics of a Nutty Hiker & Military Spouse (https://nuttyhiker.com). I love hiking and exploring. If it's outdoors, then sign me up!

February 05, 2018
Rated 5.0

Beautiful panoramic view of Custer State Park! One of the only fire towers that is easy to get to by car (no hiking involved). The road to the fire tower is narrow and winding. Not suitable for large vehicles, Buses, or RV's.
Our trip (& pictures): https://nuttyhiker.com/mount-coolidge-fire-tower-lookout/

Was this helpful?
February 05, 2018
Rated 5.0

Beautiful hike. If going during the summertime expect the trail and peak to be extremely crowded! I would suggest starting early in the morning (we started at 7am and it was still crowded). Make sure to bring plenty of water and a snack/lunch to enjoy at the top!
Video of my hike: https://nuttyhiker.com/hiking-black-elk-peak/

Was this helpful?
January 30, 2018
Rated 3.0

This is just like any other "mystery area" that you see in amusement parks like Six Flags, etc.. In fact, this is pretty much the same set up that Six Flag Over Texas had over 30 years ago when I was a kid. There really is no mystery, just the way things were built while using optical illusions.

With that being said, my children and husband had never been to one, so they thought it was fun and we were able to get some pictures to put in the scrapbooks.

Staff was friendly and the place was clean. I have balance issues (vertigo) but did just fine here (could also be because I did a lot of these as a child, so I knew how and where to stand to combat the optical illusion). My husband loves rollercoasters and anything that spins, yet this made him sick to his stomach and gave him a headache that lasted all day; go figure! LOL.

Our Trip & Pics: https://nuttyhiker.com/cosmos-mystery-area-black-hills/

1 person found this review helpful
January 30, 2018
Rated 3.0

We have visited a lot of Caverns over the years and were a tad disappointed in this one as far as formations go. The reason I am giving it a 3 out of 5 is due to the over exaggeration in the description.

Still worth a stop if you like Caverns or have never been in one!

Our Trip: https://nuttyhiker.com/black-hills-caverns-south-dakota/

2 people found this review helpful
January 30, 2018
Rated 4.0

Not a bad little drive-thru safari. Price is a little more than what we usually pay at drive-thru safari's but not by much.

They had a lot of bears that were very playful. It was fun sitting there and watching them interact with each other.

The Wildlife Walkway loop was where the bear cubs were located and it was fun watching them roll around and play with each other.

They have a snack shack if you are hungry (hamburgers, hotdogs). Don't expect freshly made food. Hamburgers are your typical frozen patty heated on a grill and placed on a bun.

Our Trip: https://nuttyhiker.com/bear-country-usa/

Was this helpful?
January 30, 2018
Rated 5.0

Absolutely beautiful lake and area! Besides swimming, make sure to check out all the hiking trails, even if you just do the trail around the lake. And look for the rock that was used in National Treasure 2!
https://nuttyhiker.com/national-treasure-2-rock/

1 person found this review helpful
January 30, 2018
Rated 4.0

If you love old bridges, you will love this one! Couldn't figure out how to get closer to it from the pull off overlook though.

Drive slow or you will miss the pull off! We had to turn around and try again!

Our Trip: https://nuttyhiker.com/beaver-creek-bridge/

1 person found this review helpful
January 30, 2018
Rated 5.0

Very old cemetery but very well kept. Has an amazing view of Mount Rushmore near the flagpole. Was really cool to walk around and see all the old graves.

Took a lot of pictures and video, never caught any ghosts though =)

Definitely worth the visit if you like old cemeteries and to check out the view of Mount Rushmore!

Our Trip: https://nuttyhiker.com/mountain-view-cemetery/

2 people found this review helpful
January 29, 2018
Rated 4.0

I am giving this a 4 out of 5 due to the price of all the attractions. The Alpine Slide is reasonably priced if you only want to do it once, but would like to see a "ride all you want" price implemented like the other attractions in the area such as the mountain coaster.

The ride to the top offered beautiful views and once you reach the top there is a great photo op to get a photo with you and Mount Rushmore in the background.

The slide itself was fun, although my teenagers weren't too terribly impressed by it. Definitely worth doing once just to say you did it.

Our Trip: https://nuttyhiker.com/alpine-slide-south-dakota/

1 person found this review helpful
January 29, 2018
Rated 5.0

We only did on-site panning. Did not tour the cave or eat at the restaurant.

Price for panning was very reasonable and it kept our teenagers entertained for over an hour! LOL.

Love the fact that show you how to pan for gold before having you do it, and they let you pan for as long as you want. We were never rushed. A great experience overall and the teenagers loved it and still talk about it!

Our Visit: https://nuttyhiker.com/panning-for-gold-big-thunder-gold-mine/

4 people found this review helpful