Misty

Misty

St. Louis, MISSOURI, United States

the.lowe@att.net

July 05, 2017
Rated 4.0

The Museum & Aquarium are well laid out, clean, organized and informative. There are various exhibits with aquatic animals. The touch tank for sting rays is awesome. Wish they had more touch tanks for the smaller kids. Also, it is PRICEY. Not sure it was worth the price. But I am glad we did it.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2017
Rated 2.0

I am really torn about this place. First, the positives. Location, location, location! You are right on the riverfront near the river walk and the Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium. Second, the beds were comfortable. Third, the room was clean. Fourth, the price we paid ($109) was well worth it to have a room and 4 people admission into the water park. Our girls enjoyed it for about an hour when we arrived and hour before we left. However, I do not know why this is called a resort. Nothing resort about it. May be a step up from a motel 6. It is not well taken care for or clean. The furniture is run down and broken. The decor is out of date...I am talking blue and pink wallpaper from the 90s. The water park doesn't look like it has been cleaned in years. The "lifeguards" are half asleep or not paying any attention. After about an hour the fun has worn out since the water park is small. The walls are dinged and some with huge gouges out of them. No room service. Also, the attached Tony Romo's is not worth your money. The food there was mediocre and the prices high. If this place had a little face lift and actually added some "resort" amenities, it could be a 4 or 5 star. So it's a toss up if we would actually visit again.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2017
Rated 5.0

It is OPEN!! Out of all the stops we made on our trip, this little stop was by far one of my favorites. Seriously, it's one of those things that ended up on our list as a maybe, but it was well worth the stop. It was not crowded when we went. There are 2 cable cars and both offer seating for 8. You get in, pull the cable and the operator (at the top) rings the bell and tells you your off. Up you go and boy what a view. The city of Dubuque, much like this cable car, was a nice surprise. What a beautiful city it is too. Anyway, once you get to the top there are viewing platforms for pictures. Nothing fancy but fun. Plus, it is so inexpensive to take the ride. When you finish your ride, stop by the little candy shop at the bottom on the street. They have ice cream and the cutest chocolates, fudge and candies made in house.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2017
Rated 3.0

The site looks exactly like the movie. Bring your glove, bat and ball because you can actually get on the field and play a game. Though you will have to wait your turn. Also, the website indicates that on the weekends, the "ghosts" come out of the field to play a game. So if you are going maybe arrange to go on a weekend. I know I wish that would have been possible for our trip. My husband would have been ecstatic. Bring the bug spray as in the summer months the gnats and mosquitoes are aggressive. Bring some cash if you want a souvenir as they have a little "barn" were they sale shirts and the like. Bathrooms? Well count on some port-a-potties. There are some trees along the edge of the property for shade. I gave the site 3 stars because while the nostalgia factor was high, I am not sure it was worth the drive to the middle of nowhere. I am sure for those who've played baseball or love the history of it, they would provide it more stars.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2017
Rated 5.0

Our family loves National Park System. Their sites never disappoint. Like the others we have been to visit, Effigy Mounds is no different. Well maintained, well preserved, clean, thought out and informative. As always the Rangers were very knowledgeable and their "customer" service was fantastic. We took a tour hike with one of the Rangers. We learned so much about the site, why it exists, why it is important, the history of the people, the mounds and the geology of the land. The land is beautiful. The hike we went on had a magnificent view of the Mississippi river.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2017
Rated 2.0

If you are nearby, stop. But do not go out of your way. I didn't feel like it was well maintained nor was it as easy to "see" the fossils as one might think. Our kids had more fun listening to the frogs and watching the fish in the pools of water that have collected on the site.

1 person found this review helpful
July 05, 2017
Rated 5.0

Well worth the admission price. We toured the nearby site then the Museum & Library . When we began neither my husband nor I knew anything about Mr. Hoover. We both walked away with a ton of information but also a real idea of the man himself. Amazed at his life and his character. The exhibits where all well designed, lots of variety among them: visual, audio and even some things to touch. You get the opportunity to even hear Mr. Hoover talk through old radio and recorded speeches. Go! It is a lovely site, well appointed and beyond informative

1 person found this review helpful
July 05, 2017
Rated 5.0

If you have ever been to any site or park in the National Park system, you know they are always well done. The grounds are great; just like Lincoln's site the park has created a little town that would be similar to what Hoover would have grown up around. The rangers do a fantastic job. My only complaint was the limited items in the gift shop (since we do collect a couple things for our trip).

1 person found this review helpful
Super 8
3.9
1
Super 8
FastBook
$

Click to discover a
great deal!

July 05, 2017
Rated 2.0

Great location. Service was mediocre. The motel while tidy was cheaply furnished and no real frills. Very much what you expect for the price. Breakfast was okay. Bed comforters were nasty and stained. Remove them and you will be fine. The bed was actually comfortable.

Was this helpful?
July 05, 2017
Rated 4.0

The boyhood home of Mark Twain is situated in the quaint town of Hannibal. Hannibal has planned it's riverfront area well. It is clean and has great views of the Mississippi River. Since Mr. Twain is obviously their claim to fame, it is no surprise that they have maintained his boyhood home well and made an effort to add other homes from the period for show. Everything was well appointed, well preserved and well kept. Nevertheless, I didn't feel as informed on Twain by the signage or other materials in the tour there as I did at the birthplace site. It felt very commercialized. With that being said, it is still worth a trip.

Was this helpful?