Remove Ads
Joanna LeMasters

Joanna LeMasters

Florida

Traveling and Photography are my favorite! Tag along as I cross each of the 50 states off my list and lots of other awesome places. Check out my instgram for more fun!

July 31, 2016
Rated 5.0

What an amazing view! You must stop here and take in the site.

Was this helpful?
July 30, 2016
Rated 5.0

I grew up reading Little House on the Prairie, and though this house is not related to that. It was awesome to see this little home. So many original items are still inside the home. And it's wild to imagine homesteading in this way. There are lots of prairie dogs living it up on the protected land, and they always make for a good show.

Was this helpful?
July 30, 2016
Rated 5.0

Wall Drug is a kooky place. And wow do they have a lot of signs. We had originally planned to explore the area but opted to spend more time in the Badlands (I don't regret it). We DID go to Wall Drug for dinner and we got burgers. I kinda wish I'd gone ahead and had the bison burger, but our regular beef burgers were delicious! In going there for dinner we did see a few of the sights. Again, great burgers!

4 people found this review helpful
July 30, 2016
Rated 5.0

I absolutely loved the Badlands. In comparison to Yellowstone, which I visited during this same trip, you have CONSTANTLY amazing views out the window in the Badlands, where has Yellowstone is awesome also but you drive more to get to the views.
I am so glad I had the opportunity to drive around the park at dusk, before going back the next morning. I quickly found out that wildlife is most visible and active in the mornings and at dusk. Watch out for snakes and be very careful in some places the overlooks are a bit crumbly and your life is worth more than a selfie.

5 people found this review helpful
July 30, 2016
Rated 4.0

This place has been desecrated by so many disrespectful people that you have do a bit of studying to find original signatures. You'll see more as you take the path to the left. Very cool. Hundreds of swallows have build their nests on the cliffs above the and you'll see them swarming the air for bugs, which was entertaining as well.

Was this helpful?
July 30, 2016
Rated 5.0

I grew up playing "Oregon Trail" which is kind of silly to say now, but I was super excited to see the ruts. It's awesome to see one place where so many (all?) of the wagons passed through. To look at the terrain with utmost respect for these people, because that's a whole lot of bumping around and walking on uneven paths. I also enjoyed climbing a bit on the rocky overlook beside there ruts. Very cool that we still have this historical place.

3 people found this review helpful
July 30, 2016
Rated 4.0

I enjoyed this fort. And let's take a moment to note that at least 2 of the buildings have Wifi! I'll let you figure out which one for yourself. I enjoyed the informative video, as well as going through the various buildings. Allow at least a hour if you want to go through each building.

Was this helpful?
July 30, 2016
Rated 2.0

Interesting stop for the historical value. The "fort" has a gift shop in the style of an old west store. I enjoyed seeing lots of different smaller animals. You can explore this place pretty quickly. I probably wouldn't recommend it as a highlight, but as a more interesting place to get out and walk than a rest stop (it was on the way to my next location).

Was this helpful?
July 30, 2016
Rated 4.0

Not being LDS myself I didn't inspect every single item in this extensive museum. But I enjoyed walking through and looking at the historical items. The art area has many lovely creations that I especially liked.

Was this helpful?
July 30, 2016
Rated 3.0

Only LDS members can enter the Temple. But the building is stunning. Stop by the reflecting pool out front and admire the flowers and maybe see a newlywed couple getting their photos taken.

Was this helpful?