Remove Ads
JenFabs

JenFabs

August 03, 2015
Rated 5.0

Super delicious! Reasonable prices for really high-quality and inventive po' boys in the back of a great bar with $5 pints of delicious Guinness. We tried the pork belly, meat loaf and the sweet potato. We will dream of these sandwiches...

Was this helpful?
August 03, 2015
Rated 5.0

Delicious place to splurge (both on $ and calories!). :) We wish we had tried the fried chicken dinner for two, but the prix fixe dinner I had was incredible. Gumbo, peach bisque, and wild boar enchiladas.

Was this helpful?
FastBook
$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

August 03, 2015
Rated 3.0

Staff here were lovely, it was clean and had good amenities, and we enjoyed the breakfast and the onsite bar (it used to be a brothel!) but overall, it's a bit more run-down than the photos suggest. We found that it had a lot of character, but it was not as cushy as we had expected from a "boutique hotel." However, given that it's right in the French Quarter I think it might be normal for the area. Very close to Bourbon street, and if you're in a courtyard room you will hear some street noise.

2 people found this review helpful
August 03, 2015
Rated 3.0

Although this is ultimately just a big man-made hill, it's pretty fascinating if you use your imagination. Having been to Mayan and Inca ruins, I found it easy to envision what this might have been in its heyday.. definitely worth a quick stop on a drive on the Great River Road, and important to remember who lived in these lands before Europeans arrived.

Was this helpful?
August 03, 2015
Rated 4.0

Beautiful place with a horrific (but sadly run-of-the-mill for this part of the world) history. Guided tour did a good job of giving a sense of what life was like here based on Laura's memoirs.

1 person found this review helpful
August 03, 2015
Rated 3.0

Tasty, greasy tamales and decent po boys.

Was this helpful?
August 03, 2015
Rated 4.0

Impressive and melancholy place. If, like us, you're not very familiar with the area's history, check out the video in the visitor's centre to get an understanding of the siege before you drive around the grounds. Pretty amazing to see how the landscape was physically altered by the war. The iron-clad river gunboat USS Cairo, which was raised from the Yazoo River in recent decades and reconstructed in the park, is a particularly dramatic sight.

3 people found this review helpful
August 03, 2015
Rated 5.0

We stayed here for a night in the Wilson Room. It was beautiful, comfortable, and easily the best and most unique B&B we've stayed at anywhere. Vicksburg is a bit off the beaten path, but I was glad we went here. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open for dinner when we arrived, but Chris, one of the owners, gave us some great suggestions within walking distance. The breakfast in the morning was delicious (thanks for introducing us Canadians to cheese grits!), and the history of the house is fascinating. I'm glad I found out it was haunted *after* our stay... ;)

Was this helpful?
August 03, 2015
Rated 3.0

Impressive and a must-see - but expensive and kind of run-down at the same time. Elvis was a sad man-child that has become a kitschy symbol, but seeing his rooms full of gold records and awards reminded us that he really was a cultural force in his day.

Was this helpful?
August 03, 2015
Rated 4.0

This place was delicious. Stopped in for Sunday brunch. Had to wait about 20 mins for a table for two, but it was well worth it. Biscuits and sausage gravy were delicious (this was the first time we Northerners had tried them), and also tried the strawberry shortcake pancakes and the crab cake benedict. Cozy place in a cool neighbourhood of Louisville, with pictures of local celebrities decorating the walls.

Was this helpful?