Jake
Road Warrior

Jake

Coeur D'Alene, Idaho, USA

July 31, 2015
Rated 4.0

Great beach to watch surfers or to stroll through the great neighborhoods!

Was this helpful?
March 27, 2015
Rated 4.0

yet another scenario to describe the haunted coke machine, It may have not been there for Morgymomo1303, however, when I arrived it decided to show itself from its cryptic wandering! I approached the machine with caution, only to find that this machine is not only haunted but clever! this machine has clearly figured out that other Pop Machines list what products they have inside only to be pillaged by local humans! this one has disguised it's bounty by having all of its buttons listed as "mystery"

I played its tempestuous game and as I dropped in its demands of 75cents I could hear the shaking and rattling of some foreign object to be dropped below, its bounty was revealed to me and inside I found a Pepsi One!

1 person found this review helpful
January 29, 2015
Rated 4.0

Something I wasn't expecting to find around Spokane, not to bash the area; but this place is a hidden-gem.

Indian Canyon Park is a very short drive from Spokane, the auto-directions attached with the RoadTrippers app will take you to the right spot as of this review.

Overall the hike is incredibly easy, you can hike all around this park without any major hiking equipment being necessary. However if you're looking to head straight to the Waterfall you'll want to follow the wide trail and find the first trail you can that dips down to the right and into the ravine.

Follow that upstream and you'll find the waterfall, it opens up into a really wonderful horseshoe ravine that has the waterfall sitting in the center. The oasis you'll enter depending on the time of the season will be filled with colors of green and brown with moss and ice patches dangling and flowing along the canyon floor, it's a photographers dream as the hues will all accentuate a mystical feeling to the area.

On a side note, a lot of the canyon wall in and around the waterfall is jagged and filled with many nice handles that would make for great bouldering and rock climbing, I'm not sure if it's allowed, but in the summer this would be an amazing place to make a day of rock climbing as right in the ravine is a nice wooden bench that some people made out of a log.

Happy Hiking Roadtrippers!

Overall Hike time to waterfall - 10mins
Hike Difficulty - Beginner
Of interest to
Photographers, Leisure hikers, Rock Climbers

4 people found this review helpful
February 08, 2014

Meh don't listen to Kristy, people still go to it all the time. In fact I just did. If you're being guided this will take you to the wrong trail head, you want to go down dunsmuirAve towards the town, before you reach the town though you will see on your right a road that dips down really fast, the road is diagonal to DunsmuiAve so it might be hard to spot the first time, just above this road is an arch that says Shasta Retreat, this is the road that will lead you to the train tracks that get to mossbrae falls... Don't drive down this road and park or you'll get a ticket, just park outside Shasta Retreat somewhere, it's a small town it shouldn't be hard to find a place to park. Then walk down into shasta retreat and when you get to the train tracks make a right and go upstream.

Ignore the signs that say no trespassing, go a mile and a half up these traintracks and when you approach a bridge that the train crosses look to your right for a trail, it'll lead you right to Mossbrae falls, TRUST ME IT'S WORTH IT!, it's amazing.

12 people found this review helpful
February 07, 2014

This and Balmy street alley are a must visit in the mission district if you're into murals.

1 person found this review helpful
February 07, 2014

Definitely worth a visit, lots of cool things to checkout. They have a really cool anthropology section upstairs that allows you to inspect loads of different hominid skulls.

4 people found this review helpful
February 07, 2014

long gone hippie culture?.. Not really, believe me you know when you've entered Haight,Ashbury by the people walking around if you get my drift.

3 people found this review helpful
February 07, 2014

Lots of unique turn of the century arcade stuff, most is only 25cents to 50 cents.

1 person found this review helpful
February 07, 2014

AMAZING AMAZING SPOT! definitely like being transported to a time of antiquity

1 person found this review helpful
February 07, 2014
Rated 4.0

Totally worth a visit! amazing place that I would upload photos to if roadtrippers would let me :).... although I never found a cave with that type of vegetation

1 person found this review helpful