Gabriel Michael

Gabriel Michael

Kansas city, Missouri, United States

September 20, 2015
Rated 5.0

Awesome hike! a must for anyone with with a little bit of daredevil in their blood! not as bad as it looks at all though. there are some really nice views of the valley from the top. and some kinda scary parts going up. not for people who are scared of heights. only about three miles in all if I remember right.

1 person found this review helpful
August 03, 2015
Rated 4.0

If you aren't going to have time to hike up the narrows I would recommend not going all the way to the end of the trail. I didn't have the right shoes and was unable to go up stream. there really isn't a lot to see at the end. I would spend your time at one of the many other things to see in the park or stop at one of the many places to swim along the way.

with that said. if you do have the time to do the narrows I hear that it's amazing! it's on my bucket list for sure! 18 miles walking through a canyon in water!?! yes please!

2 people found this review helpful
August 02, 2015
Rated 5.0

Amazing place. the beauty of this park... I could spend a lot of time here very easily! it's a must see! the color and shapes of the stone, will leave you in awe. I really like the shuttle system as well. it was very easy to use and very timely. I never had to worry about parking or traffic, it was great! many of the sites were only a small walk from the shuttle stops as well.

3 people found this review helpful
August 02, 2015
Rated 5.0

Awesome hike! a must for anyone with with a little bit of daredevil in their blood! not as bad as it looks at all though. there are some really nice views of the valley from the top. and some kinda scary parts going up. not for people who are scared of heights. only about three miles in all if I remember right.

Was this helpful?
August 02, 2015
Rated 4.0

I really enjoyed this Garden! it was very pretty. lots of flowers were in bloom While I was there. they have a far amount to look at. a pond, a rose garden, lots of different kinds of flowers that were well marked with signs. I found and used several walking trails. not sure how extensive they are.
when I was there they had an event going on. it was some kind of play that a group of kids were putting on. I really enjoyed hearing the music from it near the beginning of the park.
there's also a semi interactive area for kids there. I just glanced at it so not sure how much is there. but I did hear a lot of laughing and yelling from kids that seemed to be having a good time.

I would go back again for sure.

1 person found this review helpful
August 02, 2015
Rated 3.0

In short... Glad I went, it was hot.(went in July) it was stinky. lots of bugs.

wouldn't go back to the Saltair area again. maybe there's a better part of the lake I don't know about? I would look for that. wherever and whatever that might be.

Was this helpful?
August 02, 2015
Rated 4.0

I really enjoyed this spot. the hike is harder than I thought it would be. it's pretty steep. but doable for most anyone I would say. (it is an unpaved trail) I went up to get some night shots of the city. it was beautiful. you could see the whole city and surrounding area. highly recommend it for sunsets. oh and do be careful while on the trail, I nearly stepped on a rattle snake on my way down. Bring a flash light if you plan to stay after dark. I forgot mine and it's not super easy to go down in the dark.

Was this helpful?
August 02, 2015
Rated 5.0

This place is amazing! so much to see! I thought that I could just get in and get out. and I guess if you never got out of your car (which is an option I guess...) you could get through it in... oh I don't know, an hour and a half maybe two? I was there for about 8 hours. I love getting on the trails and up close to things. and there are lots of places to do that. after nearly a full day of literally running all over the place I felt like I'd seen 25% of it...

you can spend a lot of time in this place. if you're looking for a great camping option this should be on the list for sure, although the summer is pretty hot, not sure what the nights are like.
and if you only have a few hours it's still worth the stop because of the easy access to much of the park by car. you'll need to skip some of the trails if you don't have lots of time though. but you still get a good taste of what the park is about even if you only have a few hours.

1 person found this review helpful
August 02, 2015
Rated 3.0

Interesting little park. and I mean little. only took me about 20 min to go through it. some of the stuff is fun to look at though. there were a good amount of flowers blooming while I was there. I honestly spent about the same amount of time looking at them as I did the art sculptures. all in all I'm glad I stopped. but you don't need a lot of time to see it.

2 people found this review helpful
August 02, 2015
Rated 4.0

Beautiful place! lots to see and do if you get into the trails. I spend about 5 hours there. saw a lot of the stuff up close, it was awesome. but if you don't have the time you can just get in and get out. worth the stop for sure!

2 people found this review helpful