Remove Ads
Dave Logan
Tour Guide

Dave Logan

Flagstaff, AZ, USA

I am an avid hiker and backpacker with a focus on Grand Canyon and southern Utah. I have been exploring the Southwest since 1996 and worked as a backcountry guide from 2004 until 2013, at which point I purchased Four Season Guides, the company I had been working for since 2005. I continue to expl...

December 18, 2014

Definitley high on my list of Best Hikes in the Southwest! Incredible views and a great workout. Not for those fearful of heights. This is another popular and therefore busy trail so start your hike early!

Was this helpful?
December 18, 2014
Rated 5.0

A must-see if you're traveling through Escalante, UT. Pretty easy hike, well-known, and therefore can be busy. Start your hike early in the morning for a better chance of having the falls to yourself. And yes, the campground is great! But first-come, first-serve so get there by midday to make sure you get a site.

1 person found this review helpful
December 18, 2014
Rated 5.0

The hike to Neon Canyon is awesome! It also offers the opportunity for a really cool backpacking trip that is great for hikers of all abilities (as long as you can handle the weight of an overnight backpack). If you plan on 4-days/3-nights, you can backpack down Fence Canyon and setup a basecamp near the Escalante River. Spend the next few days exploring form your camp. There's tons to see and do and hardly anybody out there!

Was this helpful?
December 17, 2014

The Grand Canyon is definitely an amazing place and worth visiting even if just stop at a number of viewpoints.But taking a walk below the rim is where the true beauty and grandeur of the canyon is experienced. Even a short stroll can be very rewarding. For those not interested in long, strenuous hikes, consider the one mile hike out to Shoshone Point. You'll have all those classic Grand Canyon views to yourself...hardly anybody goes out there!

But if you have the time, find your way to the North Rim. The views are far more spectacular and there's only a fraction of the tourist traffic. Simply stunning!

Or consider a guided hike o the bottom of the canyon. Spendign afew nights below the rim, sleeping under the stars is an experience you won't soon forget.

6 people found this review helpful
December 17, 2014
Rated 5.0

Absolutely awesome! I've done this hike over 20 times and it continues to be one of my favorites. Doing it all in one day is great if you're a pretty strong hiker but the best way is to camp in Little Yosemite Valley for a couple of nights and do the Half Dome summit on your layover day. You'll get to the top way before the majority of the day hikers from Yosemite Valley and it's a much better experience. It can be an absolute zoo on the cables by early afternoon.

Was this helpful?
FastBook
$$

Click to discover a
great deal!

December 17, 2014

The only developed accommodations in the Bottom of Grand Canyon! Staying at the Ranch offers hikers the opportunity to hike to the bottom of the Canyon and spend a night or 2 without having to lug a bunch of camping gear. It's especially nice in the off-season (December through February) because the Canyon is far more quiet and ofetn the daytime temps are perfect for hiking. A hot shower, hot meal, and soft bed are a great way to top off one of the finest hikes in the world.

Reservations are VERY hard to come by but if you are flexible, just allow yourself 4 or 5 days in the region (Flagstaff and Sedona are nearby and great towns!) and try and score a last-minute cancellation. People always cancel about 2 days in advance. Oh yeah, bring ear plugs! If you share a dorm, you might have some snoring roommates.

2 people found this review helpful
December 17, 2014
Rated 5.0

Canyonlands is undoubtedly a MUST-SEE for anyone visiting the Mob area. Island In The Sky is perfect for convenience and offers great sightseeing for the less-adventurous explorer: amazing views, beautiful short strolls, and easy to get around. There are also some great longer hikes if you don't mind sweating a bit!

But if hiking is your thing, I suggest the Needles District over Island In The Sky. The hike to Chesler Park is outstanding and an extension to the Joint Trail will blow your mind! The campground, though only first-come first-serve, is my favorite National Park campground I've ever been to. There are a few awesome backpacking opportunities in the Needles, as well. This place is a little out of the way but well worth the time and effort to get there!

7 people found this review helpful
November 04, 2014
Rated 5.0

This is truly a world-class destination well-worth the effort to get there. The other-worldly landscape conjures visions of something more likely found in Hawaii or the Carribean, yet here it is tucked deep in the Grand Canyon. I have worked here for over a decade, leading guided hiking and camping trips to thousands of folks.

It can definitely be a busy place but with some smart palnning (and a little insider info) you can enjoy this magical place during the best time of year with far smaller crowds. Avoid the weekends!

The hike can be a bit grueling, especially if you're carrying a big backpack with all your gear while the temperatures soar into the upper 90s and low 100s. Consider spending a little extra and have your gear packed in and out of the canyon on the packhorses. The hike willbe far easier, more enjoybale, and you will be supporting the local Havasupai Tribe's economy.

If you visit, please plan to pack ALL of your trash and belongings out. Many folks seem tothink this isn't necessary and leave a big mess behind. This is is poor form and very disrespectful to the tribe and their land. Remeber...you are a guest in their home!

20 people found this review helpful
November 03, 2014
Rated 5.0

The Kanab Creek Wilderness is 75,000 acres of deep sandstone and limestone gorges, slickrock expanses, freshwater springs, Native American relics and perfect solitude. Kanab Creek itself is the largest tributary system on the north side of Grand Canyon. This trip starts at Sowats Point, a remote trailhead on the North Rim, and descends into the Kanab Creek Wilderness. Your days will be spent descending Sowats, Jumpup & Kanab Canyons to explore the depths and secrets, before retracing our path back to the rim. There are many opportunities for exploration in this unparalleled wilderness. This is a challenging hike involving off-trail routes, scrambling and frequent stream crossings. However, the rewards are many for those who decide to visit this incredible area.

6 people found this review helpful
November 03, 2014

With several hundred miles of backcountry trails leading to epic vistas, hidden waterfalls, delightful pools, towering canyon corridors, and sandy beaches along the Colorado River, Grand Canyon offers the intrepid hiker, backpacker, and adventure seeker a lifetime of exciting exploration. I have been exploring the depths of the Canyon for well over a decade, having become instantly addicted to it during my first ever overnight hike to the bottom. I've traveled most of the named trails and routes and have embarked on a number of thrilling off-trail adventures and still I never tire of this unbelievable landscape. I have worked as a backcountry guide in Grand Canyon since 2004 and recently took over operations at Four Season Guides, an outfitting company featuring the most knowledgeable and experienced guides in the region. I can't say enough good things about the Grand Canyon. It is absolutely a second home to me an I love sharing it's secrets with all who choose to visit and venture either along or below its rims.

Was this helpful?