Bailey Tann

Bailey Tann

Kansas City, Missouri

Annual Roadtripper and frequent traveler

April 10, 2018

I kayaked in Emerald Bay last summer and wish I would've had days and days to soak up the beauty. Parking was very full, the trek down is a few steep descents that are rough climbing back up later in the heat, though they are mostly smooth and as wide as a road and filled with tourists climbing up and down. But the beach and the water and the kayaking experience was absolutely worth it. Rent a kayak on the beach and check out the Island, for sure.

Was this helpful?
May 26, 2015
Rated 4.0

Worth the trip! Super neat place to explore. But be prepared to here the man's loud and obnoxious political and conspiracy opinions. Still worth it to just ignore him!

6 people found this review helpful
May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0

I really loved this campground/pool. As you swim, the dunes tower over in the distance. I came late in the day and it was not very packed. Great camping spots.

Was this helpful?
May 26, 2015
Rated 3.0

filled with a bunch of odd little things. Okay for a photo op but you are charged to go in. Not a very good campground (Go down the road to the Sand Dunes Swimming Pool & RV Park!)

1 person found this review helpful
May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0

This place is soo beautiful. When we visited in July 2014, the entire shore was lined with RVs and cars. Still wasn't super busy, I would definitely stay here again. However! Note that there is a small parking lot for cars. Most vehichles THAT CAN drive down to the shore. I immediately got stuck and asked some locals for some help. There are also frequent sand storms.. nothing too crazy. I ended up sleeping in my car and getting up early to swim in Lake Powell. Best part of my trip.

2 people found this review helpful
May 26, 2015
Rated 4.0

great trail! But very short. Still worth the visit, the entire park is beautiful

Was this helpful?
May 26, 2015
Rated 4.0

I would have loved this place more had I showed up a little later. It's so chilly in the a.m. that you can't actually swim!

1 person found this review helpful
May 26, 2015
Rated 3.0

The guy was kind of rude when we showed up. We checked in after office hours and knocked (We called a few hours before to confirm that this was fine) and the man asked what time zone we were from "because our sign says we're closed". We tent camped, was pretty deserted late July 2014.

1 person found this review helpful
May 26, 2015

Way cool stop, wish we would've shown up at night!

1 person found this review helpful
May 26, 2015
Rated 3.0

This one my first stop on my roadtrip. Fun for a little photo-op but not much else to offer. No swimming when I went July 2014.

Was this helpful?