Remove Ads
4.0
6 votes

Paris Catacombs Tours

1 Avenue du Colonel Henri Rol-Tanguy, Hauts-de-Seine 75014 France

  • Independent
Add to Trip

Heads up!

Due to the spread of COVID-19, some points of interest may be closed or have restrictions. Please stay safe and call ahead to get the latest information.

Remove Ads

“Miles and miles of human bones..”

The name of ‘Catacombs’ was given to this ossuary in reference to the Catacombs of Rome, a name originally given to an ancient cemetery situated not far from the Appian Way. The Cemetery of the Innocents (near Saint-Eustache, in the area of Les Halles) had been in use for nearly ten centuries and had become a source of infection for the inhabitants of the locality. After numerous complaints, the Council of State decided, on November 9th 1785, to prohibit further use of the Cemetery of the Innocents and to remove its contents. Disused quarries were chosen to receive the remains; the City of Paris had in fact just completed a general inspection of the quarries, in order to strengthen the public highways undermined by them. Building work was done on the “Tombe-Issoire” quarry, using large quantities of stone, strengthening the galleries and completed by digging out a staircase, flanked by a well into which the bones could be thrown. The transfer of the remains could begin after the blessing and consecration of the site on April 7th 1786, and it continued until 1788, always at nightfall and following a ceremony whereby a procession of priests in surplices sang the service for the dead along the route taken by the carts loaded with bones, which were covered by a black veil. Then, until 1814, the site received the remains from all the cemeteries of Paris. Since their creation, the Catacombs have aroused curiosity. In 1787, the Count d’Artois, the future Charles X, made the descent, along with Ladies of the Court.  The following year a visit from Madame de Polignac and Madame de Guiche is mentioned. In 1814, Francis I, the Emperor of Austria living victoriously in Paris, visited them. In 1860, Napoleon III went down with his son. The Paris Catacombs re-opened on June 14th 2005, after several months of closure for building work. The lighting has been adjusted, the vaults strengthened and the walls of bones put back.

Read More >
Add Review
Thanks!
Your Rating
1
2
3
4
5

Reviewed by
Anna Hider

  • Blogger
  • 1,414 Reviews
  • 562 Helpful
October 15, 2015
Rated 4.0

Scariest. Place. Ever. No lies. There are 6 million people buried down here, not to mention the things that went on down here after they were done lining the walls with skulls and bones. Be prepared to wait in line, but it's worth it.

1 person found this review helpful

Be the first to add a review to the Paris Catacombs Tours.

Paris Catacombs Tours

1 Avenue du Colonel Henri Rol-Tanguy
Hauts-de-Seine
75014 France

Hours not available

Problem with this listing? Let us know.

  • Parking
  • Pets Allowed
  • Restrooms
  • Wifi
  • Wheelchair Accessible
  • Credit Cards Accepted
See More Details (1)
Remove Ads

Nearby Hotels

Île-de-France
FastBook

Click to find a
great deal for this hotel

Essonne
FastBook

Click to find a
great deal for this hotel

Île-de-France
FastBook

Click to find a
great deal for this hotel

Île-de-France
FastBook

Click to find a
great deal for this hotel

Remove Ads
563854